Hello

Sorry for being a stranger to this blog for over a month.

I guess you can say, I’m still adjusting to being a mom to two small kids, one of them I’ve been exclusively breastfeeding for 5 months. Not to mention managing a full time job that’s been hectic lately (I’ve been working for two weekends now including Mother’s Day!). Throw in the fact that I have a steady pumping schedule every 2-3 hours so my entire schedule revolves around those breaks. And I thought breastfeeding at home was difficult! HA.

Don’t get me wrong. I love being able to bring home bottles of expressed milk for my boy. I do. That feeling when I check my day’s “yield” is priceless. But sometimes it really feels like I’ve turned into a slave of the pump. It has taken control of my life! I’ve had to say no to coffee break invitations and “after work” dinner invites from girlfriends because I know I’ll have to interrupt the chikahan with a pumping break, or worse there’s no accessible place to pump! The constant watching of the clock can also be quite unnerving. Sometimes when I’m in a super long meeting, I get so distracted because my brain goes on panic mode when I hit four hours and I still haven’t pumped yet. The pump is my frenemy. I really have a love-hate relationship with it.

On top of having to deal with the pump, I also have to put in an extra hour in the morning to wash all the parts, sterilize, dry everything and pack the milk bottles and ice packs in the cooler bag. That extra hour used to be my coffee/blogging break or time to just sit back and savor my breakfast. With how things are, the only thing I can savor is my time in the shower. Because that’s the only “me” time I can afford. And that lasts me 15 minutes TOPS!

Since I find myself always rushing from point A to point B, with almost no sleep at all… I feel depleted. I really don’t have the energy for anything else, sadly…including blogging. So while I’m still struggling to keep myself sane, I just want to assure you that I have not fallen off the face of the earth. I’m still here…alive yes, but constantly catching my breath. I look forward to the day when I can find the time, energy and inspiration to start shooting away with those blog entries again.

Until then, let me just send you all a big warm cyber hug! And to all the moms out there, Happy Mother’s Day!

10 thoughts on “Hello

  1. Oooppss! I have a fair share of that too. But in the end I feel accomplished when I bring home lots of breastmilk.. It’s very satisfyiing!!

  2. Hello Aimee! Glad to hear from you again. Just remember, there’ll be a time that all those days will be part of the past. I actually super miss those days! All the kids are grown. It’s a different story now.

    • I know what you mean! Time flies. I really should cherish every moment no matter how difficult. There will come a time when I will miss kissing those tiny fingers and toes πŸ™‚

  3. awww..hugs to you too! I can super relate to the “this meeting is too long I need to pump”. and to think almost 2 weeks palang akong back to work. People here are already teasing me that all I do is pump and pump. Hahahahaha..

  4. “the only thing I can savor is my time in the shower. Because that’s the only β€œme” time I can afford”

    Years and years ago, this was pretty much the insight generated by one of the brands I used to service. My thought then was, wow, that’s so sad! But I can so relate it to it now! Sometimes I find myself taking longer showers just so that I can think πŸ™‚ I’ve become my target market, hehe.

Comments are closed.