Manila Ocean Park

It was another fun weekend for the Diegos. We decided to take the little girl to Manila Ocean Park. Technically, this is her second time but she has no memory of the first time she was there. Note to parents: 2 years old is much too young to be taking your kid anywhere. They don’t remember a darn thing! haha. I bought vouchers from Metrodeal at P750 per person. The voucher said the rate for the Pacific Sky Wonder was originally at P2200. That includes the Oceanarium, Trails to Antartica, Snow Village, Penguin Exhibit, Slide O’ Fun, Jellies Exhibit, Penguin Talk Show, Birds of Prey Kingdom, Sea Lion Show, Marine Life Habitat, All Star Bird Show and Fish Spa.

We got there at 10:30am but since I purchased the vouchers online, I still had to line up for like 20 minutes to get our tickets. As soon as I got the tickets, mom and daughter had a photo-op moment. Thanks to Mr D who was behind the cam.

011

The first attraction upon entering the venue was the Birds of Prey. I was expecting to see caged birds as we entered so I was surprised to see that the eagles were just swooping high freely above our heads. No nets whatsoever. It kinda freaked me out to be honest. Tala was stunned and started bawling like crazy. I didn’t get the chance to take photos inside as she literally dragged me out of that place. It makes me wonder…with that kind of set-up has there ever been an incident where an eagle attacked a park-goer? Don’t get me wrong. I think it’s cool and I would recommend that you check it out but to be on the safe side, don’t go inside while you’re munching on popcorn or something.  You might attract unnecessary attention if you know what I mean.
009

Thankfully the little girl calmed down as soon as we were on “safe” grounds so we took a snack first and then watched the Sea Lion show which lasted about 15 minutes.  The little girl loved it! Who wouldn’t? They are such adorable creatures.

016Next we went to the Marine Life Habitat where gigantic fishes like these can be seen swimming in tanks  034

She “oohed” and “aaahed” at everything! Our 3 year old would shout “That’s amazing!” or “Oh my goodness!” or “It’s so huuuuuge!!!”. She clapped her hands and squealed in delight. When Mr. D and I would take a moment to check our phones, she would call our attention right away and point to every single detail like we’re missing out on the action.

Marine Life Habitat connects to the Oceanarium. The last time we were there, the Oceanarium was packed! As in people were bumping into each other and there were ushers helping move the traffic. It was hot and very uncomfortable. I’m glad that this time around considering it was a Saturday, the place wasn’t crowded at all. It made our visit very relaxing so we really took our time.

049

The Oceanarium was one of her favorite parts.  She was shouting “Mommy, Daddy look!!!” the whole time. Talk about excited levelz times 10! She didn’t want to leave.

 061

Looks like a happy face. hihi

058

One of the attractions I liked was the jelly fish exhibit although I know a lot of people find this part boring haha. It’s just fascinating to me to be so close to jelly fishes and to be able to see how they move and change colors so gracefully. They look almost…extraterrestrial.

101133Such amazing and beautiful creatures!

086

Hugging the jelly tank106

After that, we went upstairs for the fish spa. Last time we were there, the fishes were much smaller and looked harmless. Now the fishes are much bigger. Must be from feeding on all that dry skin.  Kinda gross if you think about it haha. Anyway, as soon as I dipped my leg, the fishes started charging toward me. I felt a rather painful pinch so I pulled out my leg and that was it for me. I know I’m a sissy. I heard it gets to be relaxing after you’ve gotten past the first few “bites”. The idea of fish feeding on my skin doesn’t exactly rock my boat. As for Tala, she just wrinkled her nose and said “I don’t like!”. Mr. D enjoyed it though. He says nabusog daw mga isda sa mga kalyo niya. Gross! haha

076We caught the last show of the all-star bird show at 4:30pm. It lasted like 15 minutes tops. It was fun to watch but not life-changing. Maybe it would have been more enjoyable if we took the front seats. The scripted lines of the bird trainers were really awkward. They should have just asked them to speak in tagalog as it would have been more natural. They were reciting their lines like it was straight out of a badly produced high school skit. 129After the short bird show, we went to the penguin talk show which was a dark theater with a huge screen in front. We came in late so when we got in, the interactive cartoon penguin was already cracking jokes and entertaining the audience.  The lingo of the cartoon penguin was very “masa”, you’d almost think you were listening to one of those masa DJs on the radio. I’m glad the penguin had some interesting factoids to share such as how penguins are monogamous and only have one life partner for the rest of their lives. If it wasn’t for those interesting tidbits, I would have skipped the show altogether. Seeing a digitized penguin shake its feathered wings to the tune of “gimme gimme” isn’t exactly my idea of entertainment. Made me wish there were rifles in the theater so the audience can play shoot the bird. Okay sorry. Irritable pregnant woman talking here.

Anyway, seeing the real penguins after was pretty cool. Even if they were just swimming around in their little enclosed tank. You have to pay P500 if you want to feed the penguins. Since we’re cheapskates, we skipped that.

138The last attraction we went to was the snow village. It’s actually just a tiny room with the temperature of a freezer. You wouldn’t last 10 minutes inside so I guess the size of the room doesn’t  really matter. They gave us jackets to wear inside the room. We took some quick pics and got the hell out of there as the cold temperature was just too much. Plus I was scared that I might slip. Being pregnant, that’s never a good thing. We also skipped the Slide O’ Fun. 148

We were in Manila Ocean Park roughly from 11am-5pm with lunch and snack time in between. Better than last time when we spent only about 2 hours in the whole park. There was nothing much to see back then.  I’m glad we went back at least for Tala’s sake. Seeing her so outrageously excited made every second of the trip so worth it. Once the little boy pops out and is around Tala’s age now, I’ll definitely consider a trip back. I just hope that darn digital penguin isn’t there anymore. I kid. 🙂

13 thoughts on “Manila Ocean Park

  1. Well that’s the main reason why we haven’t bring Cyler there, I know for sure hindi nya maalala or ma-appreciate pa yan. Kaya most of the time sa park or beach muna namin sya dinadala which he enjoy the most and perfect for his age.

    Anyway, glad to know that Tala had fun! Ang kulit ng mga pose nya! Alam na kung kanino nag mana! LOL!

  2. Same reason with you, the first time around that Ocean Park was opened, my youngest was still small and for sure she will not enjoy it. But now that is kinda older, I guess she will definitely enjoy it with her 2 older sisters of course. And, regarding to the fish spa, I wouldn’t even dare try it. hahaha!!!

      • Ahahaha!!! So nag-Penguin Talk Show din pala kayo! I thought you skipped that kasi wala sa blog. Well, if not for how terrible it is it’s never worth mentioning diba? Hihihi. I did a review of Manila Ocean Park more than a year ago before we knew each other. Sana nabasa mo. Sayang sa pera at time no?

      • Haha. I actually mentioned it in the post 🙂 This was what I had to say about the Penguin Talk show….

        “After the short bird show, we went to the penguin talk show which was a dark theater with a huge screen in front. We came in late so when we got in, the interactive cartoon penguin was already cracking jokes and entertaining the audience. The lingo of the cartoon penguin was very “masa”, you’d almost think you were listening to one of those masa DJs on the radio. I’m glad the penguin had some interesting factoids to share such as how penguins are monogamous and only have one life partner for the rest of their lives. If it wasn’t for those interesting tidbits, I would have skipped the show altogether. Seeing a digitized penguin shake its feathered wings to the tune of “gimme gimme” isn’t exactly my idea of entertainment. Made me wish there were rifles in the theater so the audience can play shoot the bird. Okay sorry. Irritable pregnant woman talking here.”

      • Ahahaha! I feel you Aimee, I feel you. Ito yung akin:

        “Although I’ve read that it’s just a digital puppetry and real time animation, I expected more. I mean, I’ve seen how the Manila Ocean Park advertised it, so I thought it must be good. But then, it was just as simple as an animated penguin appearing on a wide screen that gave lackluster trivia about penguins, plus lame jokes. In fairness, the person doing the voice over was enthusiastic–so I can’t help but pity him. One of the people in the audience even asked, “Ay akala ko may tunay na penguin”, and then the penguin on screen replied that they advertised it was just digital puppetry. Afterwards they left, leaving only the five of us (I, Randy, Raviv, Yaya Isay and Dad) and a couple. While the people behind the Penguin Talk Show did not intentionally mislead the people into believing there’d be a live penguin, the Penguin Talk Show was c-r-a-p. Even little kids did not appreciate it; I believe Raviv and other easy-to-please kids would prefer watching Barney on a cellphone! I do not know what got into the minds of the people behind it that they thought it would click! The P150 entrance fee was was a total waste of money. Plus we even waited for it and endured the agonizing penguin puppetry–total waste of time!” – http://momsterteacher.com/2012/07/fish-and-penguin-galore-at-the-manila-ocean-park-part-3-review-kwento/

        To think I wasn’t even preggy. Just annoyed. Hahaha!

Comments are closed.