How I Fake the Pregnancy Glow

How’s everybody doing? For those based in the Philippines, hope you are all safe and dry. Maring wreaked havoc in a lot of areas in Luzon. I’m glad the rains and flooding have stopped. I was cooped up at home for five whole days. Talk about cabin fever! That may have been why I sort of lost momentum in blogging. I’m glad I have this post sitting in my drafts so I have something to post while I regain my blogging mojo.

So today’s topic is about beauty. I’m no makeup expert. I just like getting dolled up once in a while and like playing with makeup when in the mood.

I honestly get flattered when I get compliments that I look “blooming” in this pregnancy. It really makes my day. Kilig! haha. But the truth is, most of the time I just fake it. I already feel like a haggard cow for most part, the last thing I want is to look the part. So every time I step out of the house, I make an effort to fix my face which only takes about 10 minutes tops, These are my beauty arsenals to date.

044

From top left, Clean & Clear Oil Control Film to keep the oiliness at bay, Human Nature powder foundation in Honey (safe for a pregnant momma like me as it is free from harmful chemicals), Maybelline Dream Liquid Mousse (non-comedogenic so it doesn’t seep into pores and I love it!), Majolica Majorca Lash King in Brown, K-Palette Real Lasting Eyebrow pen, Human Nature Tinted Lip Balm in Flame Tree (can you tell I love this brand?), Etude House Lash Curler, Trusy tweezer from Watsons, Body Shop Lip and Cheek Tint, Careline Pimple Tea Tree Concealer (amazing cheap drugstore find! A pimple treatment and concealer in one! Such a no-brainer!) and Essence Long wearing eyeliner pen. 

I won’t show and tell everything but I just want to highlight some of my favorites from this bunch. The moment Julia of Bless My Bag raved about the Maybelline Dream Liquid Mousse foundation in this post, I knew I had to check it out myself. I asked the SA if I could try it at the counter and I was blown away by how well it blended with my skin. I use this everyday when I want my face to look “airbrushed” and I simply use my fingertips to apply evenly on my face. If you’re looking for a reasonably-priced foundation that can give you that “donya” look, this baby won’t break the bank at P599. I set this with powder so it stays on all day.

047

Ya’ll already know my OC-ness with the brows. I used up my last eyebrow pencil and got me a K-Palette 24h Real Lasting Eyebrow Pen. I prefer this one over the two way eyebrow which is pricier at 1k ++ because I hardly use the powdered tip anyway. I like how if you do strokes following the direction of the hair growth, you can actually mimic real hair. Well sort of. You know what I mean. I like how it comes out light so it’s really hard to overdo your brows making them look severe and bruhilda-ish. It fills in my sparse brows and at the same time, stays put all day. The lasting power is what made me go back to using this versus the usual eyebrow pencils. See the pregnant woman can’t help but nap at times and when I get up from resting on my table, more often than not my eyebrows are gone! As in burado na! Not good. So this product is definitely a keeper in my book!

053I discovered this inexpensive brand in SM Makati and got it for only P189. They don’t say “extra long lasting” for nothing.  It stays on all day. The tip is just like that of a marker’s so it’s so easy to swipe it on the upper lids to bring life to your peepers. I alternate between this and the one below. 049

This is the waterproof version at P149. This is ideal for occasions when you can’t help but tear up such as weddings or when watching a tearjerker movie with the husband/boyfie. This has served me well being the emotional cry baby that I am now, You just need a really good makeup remover because this is a b*@#@ to remove. 060They don’t call this Lash King for nothing. I have this in brown and I love how it has added fibers to add more “oomph” to your lashes. I haven’t been using this much lately though because the smell bugs me. 052But just to show you how it looks. I curled the lashes first and used two coats of the Lash King. By the way, just to make it clear…this product didn’t magically make my lashes longer. One of God’s gift to me (thank you Lord) was the gift of lashes. For a while though I’ve stopped grooming them because I’ve been hiding them peepers behind glasses.  It felt pointless to groom them. Now that my vision  has gotten all weird (Did that ever happen to you when you were pregnant?), I actually see better now without my glasses. So strange! So anyway, that was my cue to start paying attention to pretty-fying my eyes again.

106

How about you, what makeup products/tools do you use? Care to share? 🙂

16 thoughts on “How I Fake the Pregnancy Glow

    • Me naman I like wearing tinted lip balm. It moisturizes while adding a punch of color. Thanks Grech! Yes I highly recommend that you try the Maybelline liquid mousse! 🙂

  1. i like how you do your make-up, aimee. type kong gawin yan before in hs. when we have a program, iisa itsura ng mga classmates ko because i was the class hmu artist. 😉 sana kinareer ko na lng yan. 🙂

    • Thanks Peachy! Saya mag makeup noh? hihi. I used to be more adventurous in my dalaga days. I had a gazillion lipsticks and those eyeshadow sets na may 100+ na pots. After I got married and had a kid, tinamad nako. haha 🙂

  2. Ganda naman! If I have 2 minutes only (which is usually the case), I use Covergirl x Olay Simply Ageless eye corrector and Neutrogena blush. I put on my Revlon Just Bitten Kissable or Clinique chubby stick inside the car. Haha, if I have more time, I do my eyes as well.

  3. I got inspired to tame my brows by you! It was a big difference. My friend gave me an Avon eyebrow pencil and it’s wonderful. BB cream, blush and light lipstick does the trick for me.
    You DO look blooming Aimee. Pregnancy loves you 🙂

  4. friend, you are not faking it. glowing na glowing ka even without the make up. one of these days, magpapaturo ako sayo mag make up ha

  5. I should try that mousse from Maybelline! Nakaka intrigue! LOL! And those make up product from Essence! Winner yan muther!

    Pero you know what, muther? Nag extra effort din akong magpa ganda when I was pregnant with Cyler. Akala nga nila parati baby girl daw. Hahaha! Pero nakaka-flatter nga naman. In fairness diba? Kaya stay pretty and blooming muther! 😉

    • Yes check out the foundation! It’s really nice! Baka siguro ganun pag baby boy, ume-effort magpaganda. When I was pregnant with Tala deadma to the world ako nun. Hahaha. Thanks muther!

  6. After seeing you yesterday, nahiya naman ako sayo ng bongga. Mas mukha pa akong buntis eh. And, hindi naman mukhang fake ang pregnancy glow na yan, blooming ka kasi sister 🙂

  7. Hey I love this post! Have been sooo tamad lately. First trimester is such a headcase. 🙂 But I am doing that EXTRA effort now after hearing side comments like I look haggard daw. 😥

Comments are closed.