Let’s talk about Stretch marks

020

I know this angle exaggerates but there is no mistaking I’m pregnant. The bump is loud and proud and saying hello to the universe!  I’m happy to say, I’m feeling much better now that I’m in the second trimester. No more nausea and wild cravings! But if there’s anything that I’m a tad bit worried about, it has got to be one of the banes of pregnancy…the dreaded stretch marks!

I’m technically not new to stretch marks since this is my second pregnancy and I’ve had my share of those weird squiggly skin markings from my belly down to my hips. Back when I had Tala, I was so shocked by how ugly my skin turned out after child birth. I was mortified by how lose and jiggly my belly looked that I’m guessing that could have been one of the triggers of my post-partum depression. It all came as a shock to me. The weight gain, the stomach that made me look like I was still 3 months pregnant, plus a whole gamut of responsibilities as a new mom. It was pretty overwhelming. I’ll leave that for another post.

Fast forward to this year, when I dropped 40lbs, the stretch marks just kept on multiplying like a bad bacteria that won’t leave you for weeks. So what’s a girl got to do? Well…I’ve pretty much accepted that stretch marks are a “fact of life”. A rite of passage if you will. Like getting your first period or getting ugly gigantic zits in college. With how much stretch marks I’ve had with the child birth and weight loss, I’m surprised that I managed to pull off this look back in March. If you zoom in, you’ll see them ugly stretch marks. Please don’t. Oh and I think those high-waisted boy shorts did a good job of hiding the ugliness. heehee.

079

So if there’s anything that can be done to prevent more of those darn stretch marks from appearing then wouldn’t that be awesome? Wait a minute…two kids, does that mean I get twice as many stretch marks?…Eeeeeek! nightmare!!! My belly will look like a freakin’ road map! With highways, intersections and all! Noooooooooooo!!!!

So just when I was mulling about these thoughts in my head, lo and behold Celeteque Dermoscience sends me this! A full sized Celeteque Maternity Anti-Stretchmark Cream! You guys are mind readers! Seriously. It’s freaky! haha 🙂 They also threw in a sample size of their Restorative Firming Overnight Cream. Sweet.

999359_10151461074247665_412646299_n

According to Celeteque, stretch marks are one of the most common skin problems experienced by not just the women, but men too! One of my guy friends lost a ton of weight and he is scouring the drugstores for a product that will help minimize his stretch marks. I’ll give this a try and recommend it to him if it works.

Stretch marks are caused by hormonal changes, change in weight or size, growth spurts and of course, pregnancy. They say adults are more prone to stretch marks because the collagen production of the skin slows as we get older. This product from Celeteque contains extracts that help restore the skin’s elasticity and has moisturizers that help make the skin more stretchable.

I’ve started using this on my belly and thighs after I shower. Hopefully it will help prevent more stretch marks from appearing as well as help minimize the ones I already have.

If you’re like me and suffering from stretch marks too, you might want to give this product a try, Céleteque DermoScience products are available in Watson’s, SM Department Stores, and Robinson’s Department Store and could also be purchased online at http://service.healthfirst.com.ph/celeteque/. It is priced at Php 445.

Celeteque_Logo

5 thoughts on “Let’s talk about Stretch marks

  1. Pingback: What Can Be The Best Way To Get Rid Of Stretch Marks Permanently

    • Congrats fellow expecting momma! For now I’m using Celeteque Anti-stretchmark cream. It’s part of their maternity line (although I don’t know what other products are in that line) and it’s written on the label that it’s safe for pregnant women. 🙂

Comments are closed.