Things that Make me Smile

Happy 1st of July everyone! How’s the first of the month treating you? If the past months have been so-so for you, I sure hope that things will turn around this second half of the year. Wait a minute…did I just say second half of the year?! Golly geez…time sure flies!

Anyway, thought I’d share a few things that made me smile. One is my 3 year old’s “self-portrait”. Well technically, she calls it her “photo”. She drew a frame and cut it herself. It is now proudly displayed in the Familia Diego Art Exhibit aka “pader sa sala”.

029My little girl is turning out to be quite the artist!

On Saturday, Mr. D surprised me with these blooms. Didn’t think I was gonna cry but I did. I don’t remember the last time he got me flowers. Yeah yeah I can be a softie too. Must be the hormones. haha. Seriously, it was the sweetest thing. This pretty much started our whole 6th anniversary celebration. Later on that day, the three of us trooped over to Mezza Norte to pig out. We were supposed to take Tala to watch Monsters University which was supposed to be her first movie theater experience ever. Sadly tickets got sold out fast. She was pretty disappointed. Hopefully we can take her next weekend. Later that evening, Mr. D and I had a ramen date. Loved our little celebration. Nothing fancy. It was perfect.

002

And then yesterday was my doctor’s appointment. So far everything looks great except for a few things that need to be treated. Β It turns out I have an infection plus my hemoglobin is really low. So I’m taking meds for that. I don’t want to worry because I know things will be okay. I am trying to be cool and calm this time around. Exactly the opposite of how I was when I was pregnant with Tala. I was always on panic mode. Always worried about everything. Imagining all sorts of worst-case scenarios. Terrible. This time my mantra is “All is well”. Yup “3 Idiots” is one of my favorite movies. If you haven’t seen it yet, go see it!

Anyway, so we did the usual drills. Ultrasounds, checking for heartbeat and all. You know what made this ultrasound extra special? Was when the doctor said “Aims! You see that little bump there? If it’s a girl, then that shouldn’t be there! “. She kept moving around the ultrasound to check other angles but the little bump was just there all the time and no, it wasn’t the umbilical cord. I was holding my breath the whole time knowing I was about to receive some good news. And then the doctor goes “See, everywhere we look. It’s always there! You know what, although I don’t want to confirm anything yet…I am 95% sure, you have a boy!”.

026

We both agreed to check again next month’s ultrasound but 95% is a hell of a huge percentage don’t you think? πŸ™‚ Can you believe it? A boy! Β My heart is so full right now with the thought that I could be carrying my son. My son! A little Diego! True enough, Tala did say she wanted a baby brother. Of course, with how territorial that little girl is, I bet another princess in the house won’t sit well with her. haha. Maybe I should start thinking of names now. Any suggestions for a good male counterpart for Tala? I want a strong distrinctly Filipino name πŸ™‚

Sigh. So these are the things that are putting a bright silly grin on my face. How about you? What are the things that make you smile recently? πŸ™‚

19 thoughts on “Things that Make me Smile

  1. Wow! Congrats in advance if it’s a baby boy, quota na kau! Hahaha! And I can also feel that Tala will become a good artist someday, ang galing nya mag drawing! Very artistic! Tinalo pa drawing ko, I swear!

  2. Wooow! A little boy! they say that sometimes it’s more difficult to determine if it’s a girl because sometimes “it” is hidden. But if the ultrasound shows that’s it’s a boy, then it is a boy. Hmmm you’re little man isn’t shy ha!
    As for names, how about Kahel (Tagalog of orange)? Haik is the god of sea (Tala is the goddess of the stars). My brother’s friends are named Makisig and Malakas.Cool ng Tagalog names!

  3. Agree Aimee advocate din ako ng simple things.. (often blogging it too as a reminder)
    and share ko na din sau my fave quote
    β€œEnjoy the little things, for one day you make look back and realize they were the big things.” ~Robert Brault

    Let’s claim it’s a boy!!!!! πŸ™‚

  4. “Of course, with how territorial that little girl is, I bet another princess in the house won’t sit well with her. haha.” LOL!!! Congrats on the baby boy! I se his little pututoy ahahaha! As for names, I thought of Santiago but I’m not sure if it sounds good with your surname…Santiago Diego. Parang rhyme na rhyme hehe.

    • Ang guapo ng Santiago! Don na Don! I love it! πŸ™‚ Actually pag sinabi ko yan kay Mr. D yan sigurado ang pipiliin nun. Mahilig yun sa mga haciendero sounding names. haha. Thanks Cris! πŸ™‚

  5. Congrats, Ms. Aimee! Kinilig naman ako that you’ll be having a son. Perfect! How about ‘Kidlat’ for a name?

Comments are closed.