The Bump Makes a Debut!

051

I made the big announcement yesterday on Twitter, Instagram and Facebook, but incase we’re not connected through those channels and you’re reading this post now, I know what you’re thinking… “YOU’RE PREGNANT?!!!!”.

Dear Readers,

When I said in my previous posts that I’ve had a lot on my mind recently, well…this is basically all I’ve been mulling about for the past months! I am very happy to announce that baby # 2 is cooking in the oven! The bump says it all! At the moment, I am at my 12th week. Why only announce now? Well I’ve decided to limit the news to family, a few friends and workmates during my early weeks. My family had to know for obvious reasons but I also had to tell some people like my team mates because there were times when I couldn’t help but doze off in my work station. I also had to tell some people who have invited me for after-work Β dinners. I didn’t want to offend them so had to tell them about my situation. Pregnancy is exhausting. I’m surprised I can still function in the office! Believe me, I would have wanted to shout out the news to the whole wide world the moment I saw the two red strips on my PT on the 20th of April. To think that was the same day of Blog:Inspired and I got to hang out with mom blogger friends later that day. I literally wanted to burst and tell them the news right away but had to bite my tongue. Keeping a secret like that takes a lot of self-control!

Having said that, the main reason why I chose not to be vocal about it was that I wanted to make sure the little one was out of the danger zone. Technically, I’m still two weeks away from the 2nd trimester but my doctor told me that everything looks great and she doesn’t see a problem if I already made the announcement. She actually thinks it’s weird that I’ve been keeping the news under wraps. True enough, I do feel like this pregnancy is different from my first. Although it’s been nothing but nausea 24/7 these past months, which I’ve never had with Tala by the way…I feel that the baby is A-okay. You see, when I had Tala, I suffered from subchorionic hemorrhage and had to go on bed rest for a very long time. But this time, things are different. Better. The doctor attributes the good fetal development to the fact that I’ve become more fit now thanks to biking and dieting. She actually requires me to remain active through simple exercises such as stretching, pelvic exercises and walking. Definitely a far cry from my doctor’s orders before which was “lie in bed all the time!”.

I’m grateful that everything happened in perfect timing. One of my secret motivations for losing weight (I lost a total of 40lbs) is because I wanted my body to be ready for baby # 2. Meaning If I pile on the pregnancy pounds, I would be starting from zero. Mr. D and I also made the conscious decision to get pregnant this year. Perhaps we should name this child Laiya. Remember that spontaneous beach trip? haha. Okay TMI. I’m shutting up now. πŸ™‚ lol. By the way, if you’re planning to get pregnant, those fertility calendar apps work like a charm.

So there. From hereon out you can expect me to chat non-stop about ze growing belly. My advance apologies to my male readers. Haha. Speaking of “growing belly”, Mr. D and I are starting a Belly photo diary. The photo above is the first one that covers my 3rd month. I only started showing on my 3rd month so we’re only starting now. I’m excited to see how this project turns out. πŸ™‚

So enough about me, let me introduce you to the real star of this post. Meet the little dude/dudette.

002

At 7 weeks. Ultrasound was done in May. You see that little germ in the big black hole? That’s him/her!

055

And 4 weeks after (ultrasound was last Sunday), here’s ze bebe now. I know! They grow inside at such an exponential rate! It’s amazing!

I know this post is long. Just goes to show how much I’ve been dying to share the news with you in the past weeks and months. Before I end this post, can I ask for a teeny tiny favor? I would like to ask for your prayers for the continued safety of the new addition to the familia Diego. Thank you in advance and thanks to everyone for the well-wishes! πŸ™‚

28 thoughts on “The Bump Makes a Debut!

  1. Hello there little one! I’m so happy for you Aimee! Really! And honestly, I saw in your eyes last Apr 20th that something was up. I just couldn’t tell if it was happy or sad news but I could tell you were up to something! Hahaha. Really glad it turned out to be HAPPY, HAPPY News!

    • Thank you Grech! Yes I do plan to enjoy this pregnancy despite the pains and discomforts πŸ™‚ I don’t know if I will ever have this opportunity again!

  2. Well hello there, Laiya! Hihihi

    Congrats again, Aimee! πŸ™‚ Excited to read your pregnancy related posts.

  3. Congrats, Aimee! My God, I’m so happy for you, as in! Feeling ko nga mas excited pako sau! And oh ang deal natin, calling Em you’re next! Hihihi

    We’ll pray for your healthy pregnancy, sis! *hugs*

  4. So happy for you, Aimee!

    Nung sinabi mo yesterday on fb that you were trying very hard to contain yourself from telling us that you were preggers, I wanted to make a follow up question.. err.. verification kasi I had this feeling.. ok, wala naman akong esp.. Well… I got my answer right there – Laiya. Hahahah!

    Again, I’m Happy, happy, happy for you!!! (Hindi naman mashado obvious no?) Boy or girl, we’ll pray for your safe and healthy pregnancy **mwah**

  5. Wee! I am really so happy for you! Gosh! I’ve been repeating this over and over again. I am really so happy for you! I was hoping to get preggy too these past few weeks and God answered my prayers through you! So I am really so happy! Take care always and praying for you and ze baby πŸ™‚

    • Thank you Mars! Hey let’s pray that you get preggers too! πŸ™‚ and like I said in the post, try those fertility calendar apps. Worked for me! πŸ™‚

  6. This is such a good news Aimee! So happy for you πŸ™‚ ang galing mo magpigil nung workshop hehe. Mukhang nadagdagan na ang purpose mo for this blog πŸ™‚ will pray for your safe and smooth pregnancy.

  7. Ooooh so that’s why you had that smart comment “Tignan natin” when we were teasing you about baby#2. Andun na pala sya! So happy for you, Tala and Mr. D! Agree ako kay Erl, ang galing mo magpigil to share with us the great news. Take care and i’m looking forward to your stories about ze bump. And there’s a chapter 2 of Tala already: Ate! πŸ™‚

  8. Conratulations Aimee!!! Sana baby boy naman. Aaaand…naisip kong mag-throw ng shower for you ang whole mom bloggers gang. Excuse para mag-meetup uli. Nakakainggit na kayo eh. MIA ako for the past months.

  9. So late but congratulations nonetheless!!!! I am so happy that sabay tayo, we can share notes! Or read entries of each other =)

Comments are closed.