I’m Inspired to Blog Because…

…it has lead me to a road of self-discovery. Ever since I started blogging actively last year, my life has been filled with surprises and amazing discoveries. Having said that, let me digress a bit. I promise you I have a point.

You see, I was never the athletic type. My classmates back in the day, can attest to that. I tried to dabble in sports, ‘tried” being the operative word. I wanted to be good at a sport. Any sport. But it doesn’t take a genius to figure out that I have poor hand and eye coordination thus I never really excelled at it. If PE was a common favorite by classmates as they’d consider it “fun”, I on the other hand, would be sweating buckets just thinking about the idea of hitting a ball, or running a distance. In high school, all 12 of my friends signed up for the soccer team. I on the other hand, hung out at the bleachers and cheered them on.  I was hardly the enthusiastic cheerleader. I might as well have been their water girl to be of more use!

Fast forward to last year, my husband bought me a bike. And it’s not just a cute dainty bike with a basket, it was a freaking mountain bike! I thought it was a joke but I thanked him anyway because I didn’t want him to feel like I didn’t appreciate the gift. So I shared in my blog the tale of the “strange” gift and said that I might as well give it a try. And would you believe me if I told you that the bike eventually grew on me? I found myself enjoying the speed, the breeze and the adrenalin rush that came with it.

That’s when I started documenting my little bike adventures in my blog.  From my mini bike dates with Mr. D to the nearby places that I got to visit through biking. In each and every ride, I challenged myself to go a little bit further. The farther I got, the more rewarding it felt. Before you know it, I was already thinking about going on my first out of town ride! And guess what…it happened! I joined a group of cyclists in a trip to Malolos Bulacan. It was an unforgettable and painful experience. At some point, I even cried from sheer exhaustion but the point is, I said I was going to do it and I did it!

And finally in November, I joined a group of cyclists (13 men and 2 women) and we biked all the way from Quezon City to Tagaytay (and back to Bacoor Cavite). Here is a photo of me and Mr. D at the Tagaytay rotunda…all sun-burned, stinky and grimy but beaming with victory. Well, at least I was. 🙂 I still can’t explain his expression in this photo. Haha.

055

The point is, who would have thought that little old me, the bench warmer would muster enough courage to bike 125km across towns and cities, amidst the heat and the most challenging roads ever. My brain still can’t process how I did it. It’s just so unlike me! It makes me feel like I’ve become a totally different person! And I must admit, I do like that new person more. 🙂

Through this amazing experience (and so many other events in my life), I feel like my blog has become a major tool that helped me unleash my hidden strengths. Being able to talk about my journey has really inspired me to make things happen! I now realize that my blog is more than just a place I go to ramble on about the goings-on in my life, it’s much more than that. I guess in some ways you can say, that it helps me strive to live my life to the fullest! And if that’s not enough, the occasional comments I receive about how I inspire people through my stories, makes blogging all the more worth it. 🙂

*This is post is my contest entry to Dainty Mom’s Blog Giveaway 

12 thoughts on “I’m Inspired to Blog Because…

  1. continue to inspire us mam aimee. i am evenbullying my hubby to buy me a bike hehe.

  2. Ditto Mars. I wish I know how to ride a bike too. You are inspiring! And I can just imagine you in the HFS field playing softball and hating every miss. I did. Lampa rin ako sa sports!

  3. Nice, Aimee! Taking on a regular biking habit (more for lifestyle than exercise, although heaven knows I need to get fitter) is in my bucket list this year too, but first I have to go get a bike. 😀

Comments are closed.