Current Author Obsession: Carlos Ruiz Zafon

My obsession started when my colleague lent me her copy of “The Shadow of the Wind”. I took it on with zero expectation. I didn’t know what the book was about, I didn’t know who the author was and I didn’t even check out the reviews. Call it a leap of faith if you will.

In my opinion, The Shadow of the Wind cannot be encapsulated in just one category or genre. It’s a myriad of genres all rolled into one. I would describe it as part historical fiction, part love story and mystery, and part thriller. The story is set in Barcelona in the 1940s and the story revolves around a boy named Daniel Sempere whose life had changed forever the moment his father brought him to the Cemetery of Lost Books. In the hundreds of thousands of books kept hidden in that mysterious secret library, he found one book (or did the book find him?) that started it all. Ever since he kept that book in his possession, strange things started happening. A lot of characters surface in the story (Fermin Romero De Torres being my favorite) and their lives all happen to be intertwined.

Even if the book didn’t jump out at me on the get go (I actually dozed off in the first few chapters), a good friend who has an impeccable taste in books (you know who you are) nudged me to keep going and I’m glad I did. The story picked up and boy what a story it was! I pray to the literary Gods that this book be made into a movie! The story will blow people’s minds. I give this book a 5 out of 5.
002I let the Shadow of the Wind linger in my memory for about a week before I started fresh with a new book. I usually start a new book right after I finish reading another but in this case, I didn’t want the memories to disappear too quickly. Does that ever happen to you? When you love a book so much that you just don’t want to move on yet?

Anyway, I purchased the next two books right away and I’m already reading the Angel’s Game. I’m glad that it’s up to quite an engaging start (no room for dozing off here) and if this story bears any semblance to its predecessor’s brilliantly-written story, then hey…I guess I’m about to embark on another amazing journey! I’m getting goosebumps just thinking about it. I know, I’m such a geek so sue me. haha.

005This one’s already waiting for me. I can’t wait. 004

Have you read any of Carlos Ruiz Zafon’s books? Which one’s your favorite? Are there any author’s work you’ve been currently obsessing about? I’d love to know! 🙂

7 thoughts on “Current Author Obsession: Carlos Ruiz Zafon

  1. I think you hit the nail on the head with your description of SOTW. Interested to know what you think of the Angel’s Game as I didn’t like it as much as the first? However, the Prisoner of Heaven returned to the glory of the first. I’ve also read Zafon’s books for teenagers – not as good, but if you truly love the author then they’re well worth it.

    Not exactly sure of other authors who compare to Zafon completely, but I put the Book Thief by Markus Zusak into a similar category, and I would recommend C.J. Sansom’s Winter in Madrid (I got hooked on Sansom because one of the adverts for this book said ‘if you like SOTW you’ll like this). Sure there are others I could recommend if you ever run out of books to read, but if you’re like me I doubt that will ever happen!

    • Thanks for dropping by the blog! It’s great to meet a fellow bookworm! I’m only in the first few chapters of The Angel’s Game so let’s see how that goes. Glad to know the Prisoner of Heaven is just as good as SOTW. I’ve had the Book Thief in my “to read” list for a long time. I think I have it in ebook. I will definitely make time to read it now that you say it falls under the same category as SOTW. Thanks and I appreciate the recommendation! 🙂

  2. Now this will be in my reading list. Natutuwa ako sa ‘yo Aimee that you review books.;) I’m a bookworm myself though nabawasan significantly ever since Raviv was born. I spend more time blogging than reading. But to be a better writer we need inputs from excellent writers.

    Thank you so much for sharing this. Nare-reignite nanaman ang passion ko to read books talaga.

    • Thanks Dew! So happy to know that you’re a bookworm too! Believe me I took a long sabbatical from reading. As in 5 or 6 years of not reading! I only went back to reading when Tala turned three and I had more time in my hands. 🙂

  3. another author to look for. I so love reading your blog especially when it comes to books, because I myself am a bookworm too. kahit anong books basta may matututunan… now I have to look for these books by this author… thanks girl… 😉

Comments are closed.