A Most Peculiar Book

Let’s talk about books today. Well, one particular book. Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children.

First of all, my brain can’t wrap around the idea that all the vintage photos in this book are authentic, and that the author created a narrative to be able to beautifully present the photos.

This book, like a lot of other best-sellers has a ton of mixed reviews. If you’re the type who trolls reviews in Amazon and Goodreads, you can see people giving it as low as 2 stars to as high as 5 stars. That only goes to show that this book elicits opinions that are worlds apart.

I honestly thought that this was a horror story (yes I judged the book by its creepy cover) but what caught me by surprise was that at some point in the story, it really started to feel a little like “X-Men”, except that the characters were children and that there is some element of time travel. With that, I honestly don’t know how to categorize this book because it is certainly a lot of things all rolled into one.

So the big question is, did I like it? And I will answer you truthfully…Yes. In fact, I give it a 4 out of 5. I feel that there is a lot of potential in the story and I’m glad that a second book is in the works. What’s more exciting is that a movie adaptation is also in the works and that it is going to be a Tim Burton film. But of course! Who else can take on such a strange and peculiar book and turn it into something magical for the big screen? I say it’s a match made in heaven!

006
I have a feeling that this is going to be one of those books that I will end up re-reading, most especially right before the movie comes out. I bet it is going to be awesome!

But among other things, my main motivation for finishing this book right away is because this event is happening over the weekend!

Ransom Riggs ONLINE small

If you’re a fan of the book, this is your chance to get your copy signed by the author himself! For more details visit this site.

3 thoughts on “A Most Peculiar Book

  1. Wow really? They’re going to make a movie? Tim Burton IS the perfect director. Wont be surprised if Johnny Depp will be in the movie too. 🙂 i like it too. I wonder if the author will make a second book

Comments are closed.