IHOP and some behind-the-scenes

Lo and behold I bring you yet again, another food post.

Since Mr. D and I resolved to go out on more dates, we’ve been jumping from one place to the next. I’m not complaining. I’m just a little worried about maintaining the waistline. 🙂

Over the weekend, we trooped over to the much-talked about opening of IHOP in Bonifacio Global City. I honestly have no memory of ever trying IHOP in the States. I remember trying Denny’s but not IHOP. Since everyone was going gaga over the much-anticipated opening of this popular pancake  joint, we wanted to see for ourselves what the whole fluff was about.

036

I pass IHOP everyday on my way to work and the store front always looks like this. Tons of people just waiting to be seated. This was taken on a Sunday afternoon and it took us about 45 minutes to get a table. I know. Insanity.

Finally when they called  my name, we breezed through the entrance and proceeded to the Mezannine where a table by the corner was waiting for us.

042

I know it’s just a menu but I can’t help but gaze dreamily at that glistening dollop of syrup. Food photography at its finest. Makes you hungry just by looking at it. 040

Mr. D is obviously excited. I will explain later why I was extra dolled up that day. 044

By now you must have seen a ton of blogs showing the most picture-perfect breakfast food that IHOP has to offer.  I’ve seen a gazillion photos of the most delectable-looking omelettes, pancakes, crepes and french toasts. But you know what, we opted not to order any of those. We wanted to try the rest of the items that no one talks about. Yes we’re trying to do the whole “road less traveled” kind of thing.

I ordered the “Split Decision Breakfast”

046

And he ordered the “Smokehouse Combo”047

Both combos came with a serving of two buttermilk pancakes. These were quite heavenly.

048Especially with the Butter Pecan syrup. 038

About the rest of the food, everything was seasoned and cooked well. But since we ordered standard breakfast fare,  it wasn’t exactly a foodgasm sort of experience. On that note, part of me sort of regretted the whole “road less traveled” strategy.  I should have just ordered what everyone was raving about! Maybe that would have made the 45 minute waiting time more worth it. Well, at least that gives me something to look forward to next time. My taste buds are lemming for them omelettes.

Moving on, I was extra dolled up that day thanks to makeup artist Nadj Zaragoza.  This was a pretty rare moment because as much as I like playing with makeup sometimes, admittedly I am no glamazon. Well I guess you’ve already figured that bit about me. I’ve posted a number of photos of me in this blog, while in my raggy house clothes, in my dirty bike gear and just simply looking like I just rolled out of bed. I think I’m partly doing that on purpose so if you end up seeing me walking down the street in all my usual haggardness, you’ll say “…ah yes that’s definitely her!” and not end up saying “ay, she looks much better in her blog!”. And that my friends, is what you call “managing expectations” haha.

039

Sorry I digress.

The reason I got dolled up was because this went down earlier that day. Here’s a little behind-the-scenes for yah 🙂 
034

It was a fun experience which I will talk about soon. In the meantime, hope your weekend is going to be filled with awesomeness! 🙂

4 thoughts on “IHOP and some behind-the-scenes

  1. Oh that IHOP. Tsk, unless I convince Mike, looks like we have to wait for a month before the IHOP craze dies down. Lovely, lovely mom :). I love you make-up! It looks so natural!

Comments are closed.