Trip to Timberland

Over the weekend, the husband woke me up bright and early for a trip to Timberland. I’ve never been there and although I’ve always wanted to check that off my “must ride” list, a bigger part of me just wanted to spend the whole morning snoozing under the sheets. But Mr. D. wouldn’t budge. He just kept on nagging and nagging and nagging.  So I caved.

I know, talk about HUGE. Those are actually sports goggles. Not a fan of it either but I was too sleepy to discern what’s fashionable and what’s not at 6 in the morning.  031It was about an hour and a half ride to San Mateo Rizal from our place. Timberland is a popular destination for bike enthusiasts. Apparently, it’s the kind of place that will make a “man” out of you. Some like to mount their bikes on their cars and they drive all the way to the top where the bike trail is. That’s their starting point. My husband being the purist that he is, always chooses to start biking from home regardless of how far the destination is. And since I’m married to the guy, that doesn’t leave me much choice on the matter. haha.

Reaching the foot of the hills was not a problem. It was the going up part that was nuts! If I were to compare it to Tagaytay, the level of difficulty was umm… how do I say this? times 10?!  In Tagaytay, despite the difficulty of getting there especially if you’re biking the whole way, that’s pretty much the only tiring part about the ride. And true to the adage “what goes up, must come down”, Tagaytay is generous with the downhill parts. That my friends buys you some precious time so you can catch your breath, normalize your heartbeat and generally recover from the strain of pedaling upwards. Timberland on the other hand, gives you zero chance of recovery. The ride ranges from steep to extremely steep, and your bike is on a steady incline for what seems like forever.

Fatigue set in real quick and eventually my knees began to buckle. Because of that I had to get off my bike several times. While walking my bike up, this dude with a silly grin plastered on his face, approached me and said “Pagod ka na Ate?” (Are you tired?). Amidst feeling flustered and out of breath, I just managed to force a smile. But the truth is, I just felt like throwing my bike at him. Okay, I know that’s a little extreme. Maybe he was just being nice. I couldn’t really tell. That’s what fatigue does to you.

On the upside, I got to visit a popular destination in Timberland called “Bikers Cafe”. Bro-in-law tried their pork tapa. Very tasty.  027

I had a bowl of Chicken Mami. 026

I wouldn’t mind making the travel back to Timberland for their suman latik. 024023

Crazy eyes. Talk about being over-caffeinated. LOL.030028

I like the mini-huts and the overlooking view.025We finally made it to Timberland albeit with much difficulty, well at least on my end. I was the only one huffing and puffing all the way up. We didn’t take the path that leads to the rough bike trail as our tires weren’t exactly made for that. Well not that I really mind missing out on that experience. Truth is, I just wanted to head back home so I can crawl back into bed.

Oh Timberland, you were one tough nut to crack. I still haven’t explored your dangerously rough terrains. It’s not like I have plans to. Especially since on the same day we were there, some guy got into a bad biking accident and was rushed to the hospital by an ambulance (true story). Yes, not very encouraging at all. I’m just grateful for my power brakes and my sensibilities to know when to use ’em. For now, I’m content to know that I’ve pretty much covered the basic trails and that I can finally check you off my “must ride” list.

017

P.S. I’m sure by now you can already tell that Mr. D doesn’t exactly do “normal” on camera. His silliness is pretty much his norm. And that’s one of the things I love about him. 🙂

8 thoughts on “Trip to Timberland

  1. Aimee! You are so sexy! I wonder how slim you could be in person 🙂 Looking forward to meeting you na finally and your fam 🙂

  2. Ditto Mars! I was looking at your after-breakfast pic and I was like, “how can she not have an “after-meal tummy” after breakfast? After breakfast?!” Hehe. See you soon! Bitin eh. hehe

  3. I truly admire you! My husband is also a bike enthusiast and goes biking every weekend with his friends in the terrains of Rizal and Tagaytay. Have you been to Sierra Madre or in Binangonan? They frequent the bike trails there.

    We went on a bike date one time last year and we reached a place in San Beda, Taytay Rizal which his group goes to for easy bike slopes. Nahirapan ako! Sumuko ako!

    Kudos to you! No pain, no gain! Hence, a slimmer you, Sis! Wish I could be as determined as you!

    • Hi Joy! Thanks for your message. Appreciate it! I’m glad to know your husband is also a bike enthusiast. I’ve never been to Sierra Madre or Binangonan but my husband also bikes there. Sierra Madre is definitely in my list. Someday. 🙂

    • Hi Faye! Yes you should try biking too! Ako naman gusto ko ma-try tumakbo. I’ve done it before but since I had no one to run with, it didn’t last. hihi. 🙂 Maybe I should have a running buddy.

Comments are closed.