Date Night

Admit it, once you have kids, or at least in our case ‘kid”, going out on date nights becomes a rarity. One of my favorite bloggers, Anka of Keeping It Real shared a post about how planning a date is never easy especially when you’re married (with kids). In her words “Half the battle is showing up”.  Anka, I couldn’t agree with you more! You can read her post here.

I’m glad that Mr. D. and I have sort of figured out our dating schedule. Sort of. Sundays are our bike dates and on Saturdays, if the grandparents are open to having the little girl sleep-over then we try to slip away to watch a movie or maybe try a new resto.

Last Saturday, we got to do just that. We went to TriNoma for dinner. Since I live in the North, that’s the closest mall from our place. I still get lost in that mall to be honest. Such a weird layout noh? Anyway, he asked me what I wanted to eat and I had this insatiable craving for ramen. Sumosam seemed to be our best bet.

037

I ordered a bowl of Buta Kakuni Ramen. Didn’t expect such a huge bowl! I love the warm broth and the sweet tender pork that goes with it.

040

Mr. D had a bowl of Tonkatsu Curry Ramen. Very tasty.

038

Ze menu

031

The resto has pretty nice and cozy interiors and the servers are friendly. Well, with the exception of the guy who took our bill. Wouldn’t hurt to smile sonny boy.  Wouldn’t hurt. 036After dinner, we had some Gelato. “Some” may be an understatement. Check out the huge serving! That’s chilli chocolate, salted chocolate and coffee. Death by Gelatissimo it is. 041
After we’ve shaken off the brain freeze, we finally hit the cinema. Can you guess what we watched? This link should give you an idea. 

Such a cute movie. If you’re planning to watch a movie for V-day, I think this would be a pretty cool date film 🙂

So that was date night for us! Ramen, hoards of gelato and some  zombie love. 

Have you gone out with your special someone recently? How did you spend your date? 

14 thoughts on “Date Night

  1. Lately, we’ve been having our dates on Sunday afternoons. Afternoon talaga hahaha! Ang hirap pag gabi kasi and you have a kid. As you said, it’s a rarity. You have to commit yourself to go back to dating 🙂

  2. I totally agree with you, ladies! It’s really hard to go on a date once you have a kids, as much as possible kapg pwedeng isama ang mga kiddos sinasama pa natin sila. But that’s one of our challenges as a mom and wifey. Hats off to all us parents who were able to manage to go on a date despite of our insane sched.

    Mayaya na nga sa date si Cj this Friday night! LOL!

  3. We try to go on a date every week. Thursdays are our date nights. We usually just watch a movie and almost always, cap it with a stopover at Northpark (and almost always order the same thing haha). Oh but before the kid turned 2 we rarely went out. Mostly spent our dates at home, watching marathon episodes of House and Grey’s.

    • I love Northpark! Wouldn’t mind having date nights there every week too! 🙂 I’m glad you and the husband have Thursday date nights. I think married couples should definitely set one day a week to relax and unwind. 🙂

  4. I love date nights, too! Ours is usually on a Friday night. We watch a movie after dinner and caps off the night in a 24-hour coffee shop or McDo, drowning ourselves in coke float. And I couldn’t be so super thankful to have my Mom to look after my daughter!

    • Aaaawwww…i love that you guys have your usual movie and coke float dates. That’s so sweet Mars! I know what you mean about our moms, thank God they’re always so willing to babysit noh? 🙂

  5. Date nights with the hubby?! Sorry, but I can’t connect (insert bitterness here). Huhuhu. The last time I remember having a date with K (without the kiddo – although technically, Akira was with us because she was already in my womb then) was about 3 and a half years ago. Hopefully, in a year or two, magpaiwan na si bagets sa Lolo or Lola 🙂

    • You know what Em? I think movie dates at home sort of count as dates. 🙂 You just have to be creative. But I highly recommend you spend a day out with the husband though. Just you and him, and yes that is when Akira agrees to stay over at the grandparents. 🙂

  6. Aw, Aimee, I’m soooo happy for you and your hubby! Dinner, a mountain of gelato and a movie, what could be better? We still haven’t had a date night since I wrote that post about bowling. But, I’m hoping to squeeze in alone time before/after Valentine’s DAY. Hope all is well in your corner of the world my friend! 🙂

  7. The spark in every marriage should be there, despite the growing waistlines and receding hairlines 🙂 Love and random kilig moments will forever make us feel young. Thanks for this post. Luckily, my husband and I regularly jog around the neighborhood to the nearby beach, capped by breakfast at Starbucks or McDo 🙂

    • Hi Joy! I’m glad you and your husband get to go on jog dates! That sounds like fun! And yes, i couldn’t agree with you more…love should still be there beyond receding hairlines and growing waistlines 🙂

Comments are closed.