Memory Box

How do you preserve memories? I know of some who like keeping albums and scrapbooks, while others make vignettes composed of souvenirs and mementos. As much as I like the idea of doing vignettes, my house is quite tiny and I have a feeling that sort of thing will end up being a catch-basin for dust.

To preserve some mementos, I put together what I’d like to call a ‘memory box’. It’s a box filled with little knick-knacks that I’ve collected throughout the years. A lot of these little tokens bring back a flood of happy memories. Some simply tug at the heart. Every time I open it, I almost always end up a sobbing mess.

027

Here’s what’s inside….

A letter and photo from my niece in San Francisco. I received these right before I gave birth and it came with a purple stuffed dragon. Sorry had to block out the name. I’d like to keep my childhood nickname a secret only known to close family and friends.

025

Our hospital bracelet tags. Yes despite feeling groggy in the hospital, I still managed to keep these.

024

A letter from my parents to the little girl. This came with a huge mirror which they gave her for her birthday. It’s a very special mirror. I’ll blog about that soon. The heart shaped-box came with the gift that my parents gave me for Valentine’s day back in 07. That was the same year I got married. Β My mom was very sentimental that year as they were counting the months till they had to give me away. And of course, the infamousΒ “Revember 15” cap, which I’ve blogged about before.

021

The pouch I carried as I walked down the aisle back in 07. Sadly, the beads have turned black. Is there any way to restore it? I also kept those pink little frames which were baptismal souvenirs. My kid was about 6 months old when that photo was taken. I also keep in the box those precious silver ballerina flats which she wore till she was 4 months old. I have another tiny pair in gold which she wore till she was 2 months old. I’ve been using those as a key chain.

012

Now you know why I end up in tears every time I open this box. I still plan to add more stuff into my box such as photos, tickets, travel souvenirs, perhaps a CD of some memorable songs…

To be honest, one of the reasons why I keep a box like this is not just to reminisce old memories or to make me feel good when times are low. I keep a memory box so I have something to hold on to when I grow old and start to forget. You see, one of my biggest fears in life is losing my memory. Just the thought terrifies me. When I see how old people forget about their kids and their spouses, it really breaks my heart into a million pieces. That’s why I keep these little keepsakes and consider them my treasures.

So Mr. D, if you’re reading this post and it so happens that in 40 to 50 years down the line, my memory starts failing me (knock on wood)….please remember to take this box from the topmost shelf in our closet. Make sure to dust it real good okay? And please be a sweetheart and play show and tell for me will you? I’d love that.

12 thoughts on “Memory Box

  1. awwww. i also keep a memory box. a little big bigger than yours probably because i gave most of my little miss’s baby clothes but kept just about 3 pcs that were super favorites and a piece or two of her infant toys. (i’m scared of forgetting too.that’s why i keep a blog haha)

    • I’m so glad I’m not alone Faye! πŸ™‚ Do share about your memory box too! I must agree about blogging. That’s also one of the reasons why I keep this blog! To help document my life experiences and so I have something to refer to when the memory starts to slip! It’s slipping na nga eh, no thanks to that darn epidural. haha!

  2. Awwww! This post melts my heart away. I almost cry, Aimee. I kept our hospital bracelet tag at Cyler’s photo album. Too bad hindi ko na natuloy ung album due to my busy sched. You know naman the life of a working mom.

    Like you I am also terrified by having a memory lost, nakaka takot talaga.

    • Thanks Sha! πŸ™‚ Yes it is really terrifying if you think about it. Good you got to keep the hospital bracelet! That’s priceless!

      I too have unfinished projects, like that scrap book I started two years ago. Hanggang ngayon di ko pa tapos. hahaha. Oh the life of a working mom. πŸ™‚

  3. Aaaww.. this is such a heart warming post, Aimee.
    I also have a memory box… err… more of shoe boxes. haha. Kasi we kept most of Akira’s shoes naman (first slipper, first chucks, etc.) among other things πŸ™‚

  4. This is such a heartwarming post. You had me thinking about keeping a memory box as well. The problem is, wala akong maisip na pwedeng ilagay pa. Hehe!

  5. you just reminded me of that time in March in 2010. we were both at work, me just 2 days into my new job. you made me smile.

Comments are closed.