On the Subject of Toddler Beds

The idea of getting a toddler bed hasn’t really entered my consciousness up until I woke up the other day and saw this.

co-sleeping

Yup, that’s her foot on his face. And yes that’s a nose ring.

Anyway, I’m sure all you parents who do co-sleeping with your babies and kids experience some version of this in your home. This made me wonder. Is our queen-sized bed getting way too small for the three of us? Should we consider getting her, her own bed? She’s three years old. She pees in the toilet, goes to school and seems to be a very independent little girl. So is she old enough to graduate from co-sleeping with her old folks and having a bed all to herself? To be honest, part of me gets a little sad with the thought of not waking up beside my chubby little girl. Maybe we can wait till she’s like 10. KIDDING. Umm….9?

On the subject of toddler beds, I’ve been browsing online and saw a couple of cute ones that might be worth considering.

toddler beds

viaย Kidkraft.comย 

This will be a perfect match to our bed as our bed doesn’t have legs either. We had it customized that way. We’re terrified with the thought of our kid accidentally falling from a high bed.

toddler bed

via Cribcandy.com

This one is a space-saver! It converts into a chair. Perfect for our tiny little shoebox of a bedroom.

kids-toddler-bed

via kidsfurnitureidea.com

Love the design and finish.

modern-kids-beds

via houzz.com

Can you spell C-H-I-C?

I guess if it comes down to it, I wouldn’t mind having a toddler bed that looks like any of these. But then again, who am I kidding? The only bed my kid will ever want to sleep in, is if it looks something like this.

princess bedvia ย Target.com

Okay, it’s one thing to have tons of toys and trinkets in pink sprawled in every nook and cranny around the house (here’s proof), but to have actual pink furniture in the house?! Just thinking about it is already giving me a migraine.

11 thoughts on “On the Subject of Toddler Beds

  1. I thought I was the only parent suffering from nocturnal kicks on the face LO! FYI, my son has his own bed, but continues to sleep with us because he “misses us” (we’re in the same room lang ha, just different beds). We co-slept again once the novelty of the new bed wore off. Sigh.

    I saw a toddler bed in Ikea back when we were in SG. There was one model that “grows” with your kid; you can adjust its length depending on how fast your kid grows. Very nifty concept and I hope you can find something like that.

    Happy bed hunting ๐Ÿ™‚

    • Hi Cj, we haven’t decided yet. I have a feeling we might end up having one made considering how small our bedroom is. We need to make sure it fits the space. Well, that is if we decide to do the whole toddler bed thing. I still have strong reservations. Major separation anxiety for me. haha.

  2. Hi A… Weng (Carlos) has a version of the pink room for her daughter Tanya (just in case you’re already planning for a room for the littler girl… check her FB)… her mother-in-law custom-made everything for her apo (so cute)…. hubby on the other hand designs kiddie beds as well… but then again… co-sleeping with the kids have it own rewards too… just savor these special bonding moments with her…. cause it will be just a matter of time and she’ll be the one to ask you for her own space already ๐Ÿ˜€

    • Hi Noemi, you have a point! Hey I didn’t know Danny designs kiddie beds! ๐Ÿ™‚ I will snoop around his Facebook page and Weng’s as well. I might get ideas. Thanks for dropping by the blog! ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. “Maybe we can wait till sheโ€™s like 10. KIDDING. Ummโ€ฆ.9?”

    Ako din parang ayoko ilipat ng bed yung anak ko hehehe. But I think it’s inevitable especially if we have another baby (no, I’m not preggers haha). Unless we buy a king-sized bed ๐Ÿ˜€

    • Hehe. I’m sure you can relate Cris! ๐Ÿ™‚ that’s true. It is inevitable. Perhaps I shouldn’t rush into it and just wait till she gets tired of sharing a bed with us and start demanding for her own space!

  4. Pingback: Parenting in Public « mom305

Comments are closed.