Weekend Read: Sharp Objects

Sharp Objects

I’d like to start this week with a book feature. This is partly responsible for my lack of posts. Every time I absent myself from social media, it’s either because I’m too busy with work, or my nose is buried in a book. In this case, it’s a little bit of both.

Sharp Objects is written by Gillian Flynn, the same author of the phenomenal best-seller Gone Girl, which happens to be my first introduction to the world of crime novels. Coming from how I felt about that book (which you can read about here) , I knew I needed to taste more of Flynn’s work.

The plot absolutely terrified me. I don’t even want to imagine the idea of a serial killer going around town targeting innocent children. It’s cruel. It’s inhumane. It’s the stuff nightmares are made of.

Obviously, the author has a thing for writing about flawed characters which was quite evident in Gone Girl. Although in this book, “flawed” might be an understatement as it really takes it to the extreme with twisted personas who are all stuck in their own little cobwebs of dread and despair.

The story is gripping and shocking. Every page gave me goosebumps.  The writing is top-notch and the dialogues are raw and engaging. For a story that’s so intense and powerful, the book is actually quite short. You can finish it in one sitting, provided you won’t eat, sleep or pee. I don’t recommend it to those who like the comforts of their own feel-good reads or those who are not at all comfortable with adult content and language.

But if you’re game, give it a whirl. Let me know what you think. You can read the summary of Sharp Objects in GoodReads.

P.S. Hope you like my new header. 🙂

2 thoughts on “Weekend Read: Sharp Objects

  1. Yeah! I was going to say that I like your header and your blog’s over-all look. I, too have planned out a monthly read. I’ll put this on my list pero baka mid-year ko na mabasa. 🙂 Thanks for the review!

Comments are closed.