Itching to Travel

It’s been a long time since I’ve traveled out of the country. Since it’s technically #ThrowbackThursdays, I’m sharing some old photos of my travels, specifically to the US.

012

Golden Gate Bridge in San Francisco

011

My first snow! For readers abroad, I was born and have lived all my life in a tropical country so winter is an unusual experience for me. And yes, back then I had super short hair.

010

Shopping in Michigan Avenue in Chicago Illinois

I think it’s high time for a return visit. I miss my family there. The last time I was in Chicago, I went straight from the airport to my sister’s delivery room. I can still remember it quite vividly. When I got to the airport some tall black dude approached me and asked if I was Aimee. I shifted nervously from one foot to the other because I knew that it was my sister who was supposed to come pick me up. I had no idea who the hell this guy was so I almost blurted out “no”. But before I even got the chance to say anything, he goes “Come with me. Your sister is in labor. Here put this on (he handed me a thick coat), it just started snowing”. And true enough, the moment I stepped out of the airport, it was snowing! As much as I wanted to relish the moment, I couldn’t as we went on a mad dash to the hospital. I went straight to the delivery room where I held my sister’s hand as she effortlessly pushed my niece out of her…umm you know what. Now my niece is 11 years old and her brother, who is my nephew is a grown-up teenager. Last time I saw him, he was only Tala’s age. My nephew and niece in SF are also growing up so fast! I feel like I’m missing out on so much!

And just when I was percolating these thoughts in my head and thinking to myself how much I really need to start catching up with them, true enough I just got my passport via courier right before Christmas! My US Visa got renewed for another 10 years! I applied via the US Embassy’s Visa Reissuance Program (VRP) as I qualified under all the set conditions. It was an easy-breezy process. I didn’t even have to go through the interview! How awesome is that? I consider this a sign. A very good sign. Here’s my new Visa. Of course I had to blot and crop out some details for security reasons.

visa

Exciting times! Let’s see how this all pans out. How about you? Any plans of traveling out of the country this year?

14 thoughts on “Itching to Travel

  1. I love your short hair! I miss travelling too, gusto namin medyo malaki na si Cyler pag nag out of the country kami para ma-appreciate din nya ung makikita niya. šŸ™‚

  2. Traveling out of the country is on my TO DO list for this year. I’ll start with Asia first. My friends and I are planning a Cambodia trip to July. The first time we’ll ever be complete as a group after almost two years.

  3. Wow good for u! That’s nice šŸ™‚ I know ur a mum, if I may ask, does ur visa also includes your daughter and hubby? Do they also get US visa? Thanks!

  4. Nice! Travel plans for 2013: Madlives {I claim that I will win DealGrocer’s promo for a trip to Maldives for 5D/4N hahahaha}!!!! And a HK trip with the kiddo late in the year. šŸ™‚

    • Ooooh Maldives! I will keep my fingers and toes crossed that you win that dream vacation Cris! šŸ™‚ I also want to go to HK this year. Ang dami kong gusto! Haha. All in God’s time šŸ™‚

  5. Inggit ako sa US Visa and pics mo! I want to go to the US din, including San Francisco and Chicago!

    My husband (then-boyfriend) and I used to travel to at least a new country/territory every year since 2007, but we didn’t go anywhere in 2011 because of the wedding. We had tickets to Japan last year, but I got pregnant naman. I’m really praying that we can start traveling somewhere new again soon, I miss it so bad.

  6. Wow Aimee. Your short hair is really cool. Hehe. Looks like you’ll be traveling really soon. Happy for you šŸ™‚

Comments are closed.