Kilay Talk

Today let’s talk about eyebrows ladies.

When it comes to “fixing” my face, I’m okay to stepping out of the house barefaced and without a strip of makeup, provided my eyebrows have to be groomed. That’s my thing. That’s always been my thing.

Having heard such good reviews about the K-Palette Long Lasting 2 Way Eyebrow Liner (what a mouthful!), I’ve decided to give it a go. The two way liner is a bit pricey at P1,050 in Beauty Bar compared to the Nichido Mineral liner I used for a while at P150++ a pop. But I figured since everyone seems to love it so much, might be worth the investment. Mantra to self: Cost per wear, cost per wear….(repeat 10x).

It has a powder tip on one end, and a liquid liner on the opposite end. The powder is used to fill in the gaps and fill in the inner part of the brow, while the liner is used to shape the outer part of the brow and create a well-defined tip.Β 

PicMonkey Collage

I chose the Chocolate Brown 01 shade as recommended by the SA. I’m starting to think I should have gotten the Honey Brown 02, a lighter shade as I feel it matches my hair color more.

I’ve made swatches. The upper swipe is the powder, the one underneath is the liner.

photo (4)

Now for some before & after shots. This is how my brow looks like when untouched. Thin with sparse hairs and lots of gaps.

photo (5)

I use the liner to shape the whole brow, with strokes following the growth of my hair. This takes a bit of practice especially if you’ve been using a pencil for a long time and you usually just draw on your eyebrows in one direction. I extended the tip to make it longer and I defined the arch and the thick part of the brow. My brows have always had a high arch as I am round-faced and I need that to create the illusion that I have a longer face.

photo (6)

If I want to go darker, that’s the only time I use the powder tip. Below is a pic of how it looks like when I apply the powdered Β tip. It appears more defined but sometimes I skip this altogether because my brows end up looking too severe and we all don’t want that.

photo (7)

With my brows done, this is how it looks. I know, what is it with me and banyo shots??? True to its “1 day tattoo” promise, it does stay intact the whole day. The formula is totally unaffected by sweat or humidity. For something that packs a punch as far as lasting power is concerned, surprisingly you can easily just wash it off with just soap and water.

Will I repurchase? If K-Palette has just the liner minus the powder I will most likely purchase that next time. I’m still open to trying out other stuff though. I also have my eye on the Benefit Brow Zings.

How about you ladies? What do you use to define and groom your brows? I’m curious! πŸ™‚

12 thoughts on “Kilay Talk

  1. Oh my, pareho tayo! I will leave the house without foundation or face powder but I will always, ALWAYS do my kilay! Sabog talaga kilay ko so kailangan ko talaga ayusin. I swear by the MAC Lingering brow liner + MAC Girl/Boy combo, but if di naman kabonggahan ang lakad ko I just use Etude House brow liner and in2it brow powder applied with an angled brush, then set with my husband’s hair gel/wax. πŸ˜›

    • Hi Dea! I’ve heard about the MAC girl/boy! They say its good! I’ll check that out next time. I also used the in2it brow kit before. That’s a cool brow product that’s also affordable!

    • I should definitely check out Brow Zings!

      You’ll find lots of tutorials online on how to properly groom your brows Maggie πŸ™‚ That’s how I learned. I used to watch tutorials on Youtube. You might see a lot of complicated tools that might be overwhelming so just stick to the tools you’re most comfortable using.

  2. I can’t leave the house without lipstick naman because i am naturally pale 😦 love your eyebrows aimee! someday, i want to learn how to fix mine too. heheh πŸ™‚

  3. I don’t know anything about grooming my eyebrow. Umaasa lang ako na maayos sya pag nagpapamakeup ako done by a professional haha!

  4. Pingback: Fuss-Free Friday | Mommy Maggie's Musings

Comments are closed.