Dressing Up for Halloween

I know you’re all as excited as them little ones, as this spooky season gives us all the perfect excuse to dress up as ghosts and ghouls and scare the living daylights out of each other. But this Halloween, since I ain’t going anywhere, I’ll just settle for my usual ratty shorts and shirt…hopefully that’s scary enough.

My little girl dressed the part though as she had three trick or treat events this year. I know I said I was gonna DIY a costume but when I saw this pirate costume in the store for only P500++, I knew it was a steal. It also comes with soft boots (not seen in the pic). One thing I forgot to include was a nice pirate sword so we had to improvise. She alternated between a plastic toy kitchen knife and a plastic butter knife. So be afraid. You have to cough up those precious sweets as the pirate child might umm… butter you. Arrrrrr.

She seemed to love the costume. At first. That was till she saw her classmates dressed in tiaras and gowns, and then she threw a fit. She wanted to tear off her dress and was bawling like crazy. I had to take a lot of deep breaths. A LOT. Talk about a major toddler meltdown! We told her “…but you’re a pirate princess! You have a ship!!!”. Ehhh….That didn’t work.

So since she had two more trick or treat events to go to, I had to come up with plan B. We scoured her closet for any princessy-outfit she may have and found this one that she hasn’t worn yet. We cleaned up her old butterfly wings and voila! For days 2 & 3 of trick or treating, the little girl transformed into a fairy princess and she couldn’t be happier.

As much as I repel the idea of dressing my kid in a frou frou pink princessy outfit, at the end of the day if that’s what makes her happy, so be it.

Besides, on her second day of trick or treating, she came home with this stash and I managed to sneak a few sour gum balls for myself! So it’s all good šŸ™‚

Have a Happy Halloween!!! šŸ™‚

4 thoughts on “Dressing Up for Halloween

  1. I’m savoring the years when I can solely decide on what my daughter can be during Halloween hehehe. Last year she was Pebbles, this year I dressed her up as Princess Leia. šŸ™‚ I’m pretty sure the fairy/princess phase will hit her, too.

Comments are closed.