Pushing Your Limits

I know, talk about a major backlog. It’s been a very busy week for me. Too busy that I even had to work during the holiday and weekend. Glad I finally have time to tend to the blog today.

I’d like to share with you an unforgettable experience I had recently. My first out-of-town bike road trip!

On a Sunday, our group (9 guys and 3 girls) left the village at 5am. It was my first time to go biking with a group. This actually made me nervous because these people are the weekend warrior types. They’ve done this before. Me on the other hand, well it was my first time. I knew I had to keep up with the group. The last thing I wanted was to be a diva and be a pain in the neck. So as my husband coached me by my side that I should watch my breathing and preserve my energy, I followed his instructions to the dot.

We got to SM Marilao by 7am. It was a nice ride. The breeze was refreshing and although we had to cross several main roads just to get there, it felt safe and comfortable. I guess that’s the advantage of riding with a group. The cars will really give enough space for the fleet of bikes to pass by. Hope you can spot me in this pic.

Shortly after, we stopped for our first morning break. Had to park our bikes by the gutter.

Waiting for the tapsi to arrive. I wasn’t really hungry but was told of the importance to refuel. Otherwise I might not have enough energy to make it to our destination. Yikes! Wolfed down my meal in a jiffy.

With what seemed like forever, where we had to cross fields, carabaos, and little towns along the way…we finally made it to Barasoain Church in Malolos Bulacan

Ze boys

Girl power represent! ๐Ÿ™‚

These ladies are moms too, each with about 3 or 4 kids. They often ride with their husbands and have done out of town trips too. I admire their strength and I’m glad I got the opportunity to bond with them through this tripย 

The whole group had bulalo for lunch before leaving Bulacan at 1pm. Now I wish I could say the ride home was a breeze but it wasn’t. As if on cue, it rained, and then the harsh sun came out and then it rained again but we kept our feet on the pedal. We couldn’t break our momentum except for a few washroom and water breaks. For some strange reason, we took another route home which turned out to be a much longer one. The trail also had some pretty challenging uphills which the group also did not expect to encounter.

We got home at around 6pm (we originally estimated a 2pm arrival no thanks to the long route). I was exhausted beyond belief. My vision started to blur and my hands were numb as hell. I knew I’ve reached my limit because at some point I broke into tears out of sheer exhaustion. I honestly didn’t think I’d make it home. I just kept on thinking about my little girl to keep me motivated to keep going and ignore all the bodily pains that I was feeling all over.

This pic of my speedometer is proof that I managed to finish my goal. Despite the weather and the physical and mental exhaustion, I did it! For perspective, on a regular day when I bike for 45 minutes, that’s usually 10km. This pic shows that we did 107. I will be forever proud of this moment which I consider to be one of my biggest personal achievements.

So what happens when you’ve reach one goal? Well that just means one thing…you need to make new goals for yourself! And with that in mind, I’ve already set my new goal and that is to conquer Tagaytay.

Let’s do this ๐Ÿ™‚

8 thoughts on “Pushing Your Limits

Comments are closed.