Before and After

Last week I posted a pic on Instagram, Twitter and Facebook to show that I can finally fit into my skimpy dress from Mango. I had no idea that posting that photo would get such wild reactions! I’m well aware that I lost weight but I guess it’s different when you hear it from other people.

So today I’ve decided to do one of those cheesy before & after photos to document my progress. A note to those offering weight loss products, you do not have my permission to use these photos to sell your products. Just wanted to make sure that’s clear. LOL.

Here it is! šŸ™‚

On the left was a photo taken back in May. I was actually looking for photos taken in August but couldn’t find any. But that should pretty much give you an idea what my body looked like when I started dieting and exercising in early August. The one on the right was a photo taken last week. If you notice my sleeve, the fabric is pretty stretched out. That’s because even if I was on the heavy side back then, I would still squeeze into this dress even if it meant having to suck my gut in the whole day. LOL.

Thank God I don’t need to do that anymore. In fact, I really need to start doing some serious shopping for a whole new wardrobe! But I’ll delay that until I reach my ideal weight which I predict will be around my birthday. What a wonderful gift that would be! šŸ™‚ My husband already said that he’ll take me out shopping for my birthday. That’s something to look forward to.

So people, if you need to lose weight. I’m sharing some tips. These are just based on experience and I am in no way an expert in health and fitness. Here goes:

1) Download a calorie counter app on your phone, tablet or PCĀ – Use it to track what you eat on a daily basis. It really is such an eye-opener trust me! I’m now using www.myfitnesspal.com and I love that it has more food selections than the other apps. Seriously, how many apps can tell you how many calories one serving of a “sinampalukang manok” (chicken in tamarind soup) can give you? I like that it nudges me to eat more or eat less depending on my intake for the day. My sister uses the same app and she lost 15lbs and that’s even without exercise. Can you just imagine how much more you can lose when you add in regular exercise?

2) Choose healthier options. It’s no secret that I was a foodie. Name it, I’ve eaten it. But I realize that I’m not getting any younger, nor slimmer for that matter. For bread, I choose wholewheat. For coffee, I drink it black. I’ve cut out soda in my life but once in a while, I treat myself to a Coke Zero (0 calories versus the regular can of Coke at 139 calories). Well Coke altogether isn’t healthy at all, but I allow myself to cheat once in a while AND within limits. I eat more fruits now, and usually on an empty stomach and 30 minutes before a meal to get the maximum nutritional benefits. I haven’t completely cut out rice in my life, I’ve just minimized my serving to a maximum of one cup at a time. Most of the time though I only consume 1/2 cup. I eat more vegetables now and still get my protein from fish and meat. As much as possible, I stay away from anything fried. FRIED is evil. Fried potatoes are the worst! Stay away from those. Far far away.

3) Regular Exercise. You’re probably tired of hearing about my bike tales (sorry for that) but I really attribute a lot of my weight loss because of biking. But that’s what works for me. Try to look for the kind of exercise that works for you and suits your lifestyle. And hopefully something you don’t get tired of doing because you have to do it regularly. Seriously, you don’t even have to enroll in a gym. Try to look for an exercise regimen online that you can do at home, at least 30 minutes a day 5-7x a week. If you want to exercise outdoors then that would be better! There’s really nothing like breathing in fresh air. If you’re into running, yoga, boxing, calisthenics or want a mix of the whole shebang than by all means go for it! The key is regular exercise. Not just something you do on weekends. They say that the ideal time to work-out is in the morning. I don’t know why. But I do it first thing in the morning before I even realize that I’m exercising. You sort of fool the brain a bit in that sense. šŸ™‚

4) No shortcuts – I know you’ve heard about a lot of 9/5/3/day day diet plans and cleanses. I’ve never tried those because the people I know who have tried those have almost always gained back the pounds they’ve lost. Those diets only work when you sustain it further with a lifestyle change. If you rely solely on those 9/5/3 days to completely change your life then you might be in for a disappointment. A regular regimen works best. Losing 1 pound a week is ideal. It’s a slow and steady burn but at least you’re assured that you’re doing it the slow but safe way.

Those are all the tips I can share. I am just sharing these based on my experience and again, I am in NO way a health or fitness buff expert. It’s just that I’ve been asked “How did you do it?” so many times that it prompted me to post an entry and perhaps just refer everyone to this link in the future so I don’t keep having to answer that question over and over again. LOL šŸ™‚

This whole weight loss process is a continuous learning experience for me. I didn’t do this just to get a fitter slimmer physique. I also want to be stronger and feel better about myself. For three years, I’ve really let myself go being the stress eater and emotional eater that I was. I now realize that there is no one else to blame but myself. We can all take charge of our lives and our health. I guess you can say that at this point in my life, this is me doing just that. šŸ™‚

25 thoughts on “Before and After

  1. Congratulations, A! YOU have inspired me. I will definitely look into that calorie-counter website. And give serious thought to an exercise regimen I can live with (just thinking about it makes me want to go “ouch!”).

    • Thanks D! You can do it! šŸ™‚ Although if you ask me, you look good already. I don’t think you need to shed off pounds at all! But the wonders exercise does for one’s strength! That I highly recommend for you as you’re always on the go!

  2. Applause!!! Inggit din! I never got my pre-pregnancy weight. Throw me in a pool i’ll float. Sooo i’ll DL the calorie counter now but I don’t think I can drink coffew with no creamer hehe

  3. Wooot wooot! You look so nice in that dress! Congratulations Aimee! That is such a BIG achievement!

  4. wooooow!!!! galing mo naman… now i am inspired to exercise. you’re definitely right, there are ways to exercise not spending a single centavo. I will go back to running… again… thanks for this post… I AM INSPIRED…. hahaha!

      • Oh my! Good job right there! Because of you, now I’m a believer! Hahahaha whats your height by the way? I’m kinda short so in close and clear view, still at the chubby zone. šŸ˜¦

      • I’m glad I made a believer out of you šŸ˜Š I stand 5″4. With that height, my ideal weight is 120lbs. Start with the app first if you want to lose weight. It’s free and easy. šŸ˜Š

  5. Galing! Ikaw na talaga sis! šŸ™‚ The first time I saw your photo with the Mango dress, napa-Wow talaga ako.
    I’m still biking, sis, thank you for inspiring me. Kelangan ko lng talaga ng discipline at lumayo sa tukso like Nutella and coffee creamer.

Comments are closed.