Getting to Know Charlie

I know it’s been a while since I’ve done a book-related post. I do miss it. For this post though, you won’t read any of my usual lengthy ramblings since I just started flipping through part 1 last night. From what I’ve read though, I must say that I do like the idea of the story being written in the form of letters. It makes you feel like Charlie’s actually talking to you. Although it’s too early to tell, I think I Β like Charlie. In some ways, he reminds me of my “wallflower” moments while I was growing up. But that’s another story.

Charlie is not at all like an overreacting whiny teenager. He seems like someone who is grounded and is overall, a good kid. It just so happens that he has his own set of screaming insecurities and he can be misunderstood at times. Being the “wallflower” that he is, he has a tendency to get lost in his thoughts as he watches everything closely and dissects every single detail of the world that revolves around him, while he remains in a standstill. This novel is a coming-of-age story about Charlie and his friends, Patrick and Sam. They all venture into a world of self-discovery and friendship.

The obvious reason why I chose to dive into these pages right away is because of the film adaptation that’s already showing in cinemas now. Yes, I am one of those people who needs to read the book first before watching the movie. I’ve heard nothing but awesome reviews about the movie, and that’s pretty rare for a book-to-movie adaptation. Some people liked it so much that they opted to see it more than once. That says a lot about the film I think.

Here’s the trailer in case you haven’t seen it yet. It was made by the same producers of “Juno”. I love that Emma Watson is in it. In my opinion, she can do no wrong.

I have a feeling I’m going to fall in love with this film. πŸ™‚

4 thoughts on “Getting to Know Charlie

Comments are closed.