Close Call

Today I received one of the most dreaded phone calls ever. The kind of call you never ever want to receive in this lifetime. EVER. My brother-in-law called to say that my husband got into a biking accident and was rushed to the hospital. My mind went numb. I don’t remember what happened next. It was all a big blur. I think I Β dropped whatever it was I was holding at that time. I can’t remember.

We rushed to the hospital and when I opened the doors to the ER, there I found my husband in a wheelchair and a sling on his arm. He gave me a weak smile and the first thing out of his mouth was “I’m sorry”. I tried to fight back the warm tears forming in my eyes but I couldn’t. A huge wave of relief swept over me. I knew it could have been worse. The fact that he was talking to us, melted all my worries away.

He suffers from a dislocated shoulder and one of his collar bones is now protruding. He also suffers from swollen joints and severe wounds on his knees. But like I said, it could have been worse. Apparently, he hit his head on the concrete pretty hard. Thankfully, he was wearing the helmet I got him recently for his birthday. That helmet just saved his head from serious damage. I heard the helmet is bent out of shape and has a huge crack on it. That could have been his head. The mere thought terrifies me.

Despite what happened, I have so much to be grateful for. I’m grateful that he wasn’t alone when it happened. That other people were around and that one of them happened to know first-aid. I’m grateful that these same people brought him to a nearby hospital where he was attended to right away. I’m grateful that this morning when he said he was gonna go biking, he had the sense to wear that helmet otherwise he would have suffered a serious concussion. And most of all, I’m grateful that I still get to hug him and kiss him and tell him I love him, and now more than ever, I plan to do that every single day of our lives together.

Clearly, this is life throwing us a curve ball. A huge one. But the man upstairs was working his mysterious ways through it all. Something tells me things are going to be just fine.

16 thoughts on “Close Call

  1. God bless you and your family always Aimee! God is definitely preparing something bigger and better for your family with all these recent trials πŸ™‚ Praying for your hubby’s speed recovery.

  2. Woah, I didnt know the “semplang” was this serious! Good thing you guys are okay now, regards na lang kay Diegs! Ingat-ingat kayo sa pagbibiyahe πŸ™‚

Comments are closed.