Mementos of the Past

My mom brought these over during the weekend. Can’t believe she kept these artworks I’ve made back when I was about 12 or 13 years old!

Some close-ups

Notice the shadow on the vase? It should be on the opposite side. πŸ™‚

My version of “mother and child”

I don’t remember if I ever gave a title for any of these artworks, but I now dub this painting, “The Floating Table”.

I have a few more artworks in my Mom’s house which includes a nude sketch of a woman. I attended art class and that was our teacher’s idea of a grand finale that we’ll never forget. I’d say he was successful in achieving that objective. I also think I’ve managed far better than the male population of that class. There were a lot of pencils dropping, sweat forming and hands quivering in that class. It was quite an amusing sight.

I’m touched that my mother managed to preserve everything all through these years. Yes, she’s sentimental like that. She even brought over a copy of a college publication where I had a column called “Stained Glass Windows”. It was nostalgic to read through what I had to say when I was 17. If my 32 year old self could talk to my 17 year old self, she’d say “Sister, there’s a lot about the real world you don’t know. In about 10 years, review what you’ve written here and tell me if you still feel the same”. But then again, that might eat at my 17 year old’s ego and might expose her to a world ofΒ unnecessaryΒ fear, so to put her at ease, I will follow that up with “Hey don’t fear for the future. Yes, you’ll make mistakes. That part is guaranteed. But you’ll learn from those mistakes and you’ll turn out just fine”.

Come to think of it, if I had the chance to change things while I was growing up, I probably wouldn’t change a thing. I’d still spend the first two years of College life, stumbling through the dark and fumbling my way around in a sea of strangers. I would still give my 100% in classes that I adored and would skip a class or two of those classes that didn’t add value to my life (in those rebel moments, you’ll find me in the billiards hall instead). I would still spend some days in the huge library only to hide behind a book and catch up on some snooze during my 5 hour break. And I would still spend the next two years after that, finding like-minded souls and discovering that part of me that loves to write and be surrounded with creative energy. Little did I know that later on in life, this love for “creative energy” would eventually lead me towards a long career in advertising. And yes, I would still join the college publication which was one of the most unpopular organizations in my College, even if it meant that the under-funded magazine only got printed once or twice during my entire College life. Having done that made me realize how writing has become a huge part of who I am, which came in handy later on in my careers in advertising, marketing, events…as well as in my daily musings through this blog.

There’s a different kind of high that you get when you look back and reminisce the good old days. I’m glad I have mementos from the past, thanks to my mom. I should definitely keep a mental note to do the same for my kid. It’s such a sweet and loving gesture that only a mother can do.

14 thoughts on “Mementos of the Past

  1. in a word, AGREE!!!! I wouldn’t want you to deviate because a different decision might mean us not meeting. I wouldn’t want that.

    • Yeah, you should encourage her to keep going πŸ™‚ If you’re considering enrolling her to summer art classes, you may want to check out Painter Fernando B. Sena’s workshops. It was the same one I attended when I was a kid. He still does workshops up to now. πŸ™‚

  2. Wow A… I know you’re creative but I didn’t know you could paint as well.. these works were pretty awesome! πŸ™‚ cheers!

    • Thanks Noems! This was a long time ago. πŸ™‚ I don’t know if I can still do any of these now. Perhaps I should try again and see if I can rediscover my lost artistic abilities. hehe πŸ™‚

    • Serious? wow thanks Maqui! I might have to re-learn this whole art thing as it’s been ages since I last played with watercolor or oil pastel. I’ll let you know if and when I manage to get back into the artistic swing of things and decide to open shop. hehe πŸ™‚

Comments are closed.