Bike Diaries: Road to UP

Over the long weekend, I challenged myself to bike to a farther distance from last time. Part of me was frightened to venture out into the streets again, with all those vehicles criss-crossing my path but my husband told me to trust him, so I did.

This was me with my full gear on. Leaving the house at 8:30am.

We had to abruptly stop the bike ride 15 minutes in because it started to rain hard. We had to seek shelter from a sari-sari store to keep us dry. When the sun emerged 10 minutes after, we were back on the road.

An hour and a half and we finally reached Commonwealth.Ā He asked me to carry the bike for photo-op purposes and so I did. The point of doing so, I don’t quite understand. I think my brain was too tired to process. Pardon the sweaty face. That’s what you get for biking under the intense heat of the sun. I guess you can say I threw out every Diva bone in my body out the window. Ā 

After 15 minutes, we reached Luzon Avenue. Had to take a water break.Ā And two hours, we finally reached the UP Diliman area. I was thrilled! The last time we biked, I didn’t get to reach UP. I only got as far as Luzon Avenue and I begged to turn back. In this pic I was just smoothly cruising on the biking lane. I was relishing my little victory.And of course, I just had to have my photo taken by the UP Oblation to mark my arrival. I made it! šŸ™‚Ā 

After UP, we went straight to Teacher’s Village for lunch. And what a lunch it was! Talk about a major recovery meal. I won’t post it anymore as it might crack you up to see how much we ordered. I’m just glad I managed to burn all those calories on the ride home.

In an hour, we ended up in Quirino to have my tires replaced. And at 3pm, we were home sweet home. I was exhausted. I chugged down that water bottle like there’s no tomorrow.
The speedometer doesn’t lie. Can’t believe I managed to bike that huge a distance! Last time I did 21k. This is a big improvement.

Hmmm… I wonder if I’m ready to do one of those long distance road trips to Tagaytay or Bulacan? Two words…Baby steps. We’ll get there. šŸ™‚

14 thoughts on “Bike Diaries: Road to UP

  1. Been wanting todo this along time, too bad lang hindi sports minded ang asawa komhmmmp.
    We have bikes naman pero naka display lng hmmmp.
    Fit na fit ka inggitmmuch:( hehehe

  2. Good for you A…. Danny used to bike before also.. he had a group na before we got married… unfortunately šŸ˜¦ sa sobrang takot kong sumabay sa kanya… he decided to just sell his bike… (I think now he’s regretting it already hehehe!!!)

  3. 35.62k! Wow! Having travelled that far and burning lots of calories is such an accomplishment, no? šŸ™‚
    You’ve inspired me from your post Counting calories. In fact, I downloaded a similar app for android – just too stubborn right now to count my calorie intake. hehe. I’ve bought a bike, too, pero stationary lng.

    • Thanks Em! I’m glad I’ve inspired you. A stationary bike is good enough to burn those calories! Enjoy living a fit lifestyle! Your body will definitely thank you for it! šŸ™‚

Comments are closed.