Dad’s Short Stories

One of the things that make me super proud of my Dad is the fact that he’s such a darn good writer. And I’m not just saying that because he’s my Dad. He managed to preserve the actual Free Press magazines back in 1970 where some of his short stories were published. Yes, 1970, I wasn’t even born yet. I got a hold of the actual old yellowing copies each wrapped carefully in plastic and I managed to scan the front pages. I plan to frame these and give them to my Dad. Maybe even make another set for myself which I can display at home.   Illusions is a rather interesting story as it tells of the narrator’s fascination for a certain woman who works in a barbershop. I should ask my Dad if the story is really fiction or based on true events. The one that got away perhaps? Quite intriguing.

I shared these scanned images on Facebook and naturally everyone wants to read it. That means I sure have a lot of scanning to do.

Looking at these pages makes me realize that I got my love for writing from my Dad but I truly pale in comparison to his writing. I still have a lot to learn from him.

2 thoughts on “Dad’s Short Stories

Comments are closed.