Counting Calories

Hope you all had a refreshing weekend!

Unfortunately, half of the time I was just sneezing and coughing. It must be this darn weather. And all the while I thought taking 1000mg of Vitamin C is enough to protect me from sicknesses like this. I guessed wrong.

I’m happy to report that I’ve been true to my diet, except on Friday night when I gave into the whole McDonald’s twister fries hype. Everyone in Manila was tweeting about it so being the ultimate consumer, I had to dive in. I felt so guilty after. 400 calories right there. Ugh.

Anyway, I’ve decided on a system that I think is doable. It all started when I was talking about counting calories on twitter and someone suggested that I download a Calorie Counter app. I checked the free ones available in Blackberry World and found FatSecret, which also has a website which automatically synchs with your device. I opened an account and logged in my age, current weight and target weight, and how I categorize my physical activities. I logged in that I’m “low activity” as I can’t really exercise as often as I want.  Since then I starting logging everything that I ate. It really is such an eye-opener to find out how many calories we consume a day! This app has information about widely-distributed food brands and it can tell you that 1/2 cup of Del Monte crushed pineapple in syrup has 90 calories, or that a Krispy Kreme original glazed donut has 190 calories. However, the app doesn’t have information on products available to certain regions only. Another nifty feature is that it has information about restaurant chains so that may prove useful too especially for restaurant chains that have gone global and are available in local shores.

Here’s a sample of the web version of my food diary. Based on my target weight and level of physical activity, I have a 1,700 calorie limit per day.

This shows you that I’ve consumed 100% calorie requirement as of yesterday. In the snacks area, you’ll see that I still had two slices of pizza but I still fell within my limit. So I didn’t have to totally remove some of my favorite treats, I just needed to manage the amount of serving. Yes two slices is “managing”, I usually go for 3 or 4 slices. That’s how big my appetite is. If I were to estimate how much calories I used to consume a day based on my eating habits, I think it would be safe to assume that I consumed about 2,500 calories a day. That would have been acceptable if I lived an active lifestyle.

To expedite weight loss, I need to burn more calories than I consume. That’s the part that I need to work on now that I have a dietary system in place. Plus I also need to buy me a weighing scale so I can effectively monitor my weight.

But I’ll wait to start my fitness regime once I’ve fully recovered from this cold. I’m just glad that simple tasks like sleeping, resting and walking already burn some calories. And with this wet weather, maybe catching up on more sleep isn’t such a bad idea.

So on that note I’m going back to bed. Enjoy the rest of the week! 🙂

4 thoughts on “Counting Calories

  1. I’m so inggit!!! I am sometimes frustrated with myself because i know i’m out of shape and stuffing myself with the wrong things. But my resolve and self-control are weak. 😦

Comments are closed.