Insurgent

Thanks to Super Blogger D (SBD) (sorry lame private joke), I managed to borrow a copy of Insurgent which is the sequel to Divergent. I’ve blogged about Divergent here. Some people would usually jump into the next book right after reading the first, but I for one, needed a break from all the action. Yes it’s that kind of book. Plus I wanted some time to actually miss the romance between Tris and Tobias. I read three Insurgent book reviews recently, so I took that as my cue to dive back into the dystopian world filled with factions, betrayal and the fight for power.

This is a synopsis of the book from Goodreads (which incidentally, is where I often hang-out more than Facebook)

One choice can transform you–or it can destroy you. But every choice has consequences, and as unrest surges in the factions all around her, Tris Prior must continue trying to save those she loves–and herself–while grappling with haunting questions of grief and forgiveness, identity and loyalty, politics and love.

Tris’s initiation day should have been marked by celebration and victory with her chosen faction; instead, the day ended with unspeakable horrors. War now looms as conflict between the factions and their ideologies grows. And in times of war, sides must be chosen, secrets will emerge, and choices will become even more irrevocable–and even more powerful. Transformed by her own decisions but also by haunting grief and guilt, radical new discoveries, and shifting relationships, Tris must fully embrace her Divergence, even if she does not know what she may lose by doing so.

“New York Times” bestselling author Veronica Roth’s much-anticipated second book of the dystopian “Divergent” series is another intoxicating thrill ride of a story, rich with hallmark twists, heartbreaks, romance, and powerful insights about human nature.

Divergence? Insurgent? I know I know….this is why you really need to read the first book before jumping into book two, otherwise you’ll be completely lost with all the terminologies. I’ve come to realize that I forgot to write a decent review about the first book but to cut things short, I found it to be a real-page turner! It was a gripping tale from start to finish and there was not one boring moment in that book because it bursts of action and suspense from all possible angles. The first book was the introduction to 16 year old Tris Prior whose life takes a dramatic turn as she makes the decision that will change her life.

I’m glad that Insurgent picked up immediately from where Divergent left off, and not a day had passed from transitioning between both novels. I’m sure a lot of readers would appreciate that. There were some moments that dragged on, more on this book than the first. And at times I found myself wanting to smack the living daylights out of the protagonist for being such a fickle-minded little girl! I also got lost when new characters started entering the picture and had to flip back to some pages just to get a clear picture in my head who these characters were and what purpose they served in the book. On a  more positive note, the love story between Tris and Tobias intensifies with this book and their devotion to each other gets challenged as the plot thickens.

I like that feeling you get when you finally close the pages of the book, and you bask in a triumphant glow knowing that everything is how its supposed to be and that all is well with the world. Questions that have been buzzing in your head have finally been answered and you are content enough to move on. Sadly that’s not how I felt with this book because the ending was such a freaking cliffhanger! And what’s worse is that the next book is coming out in 2013. What?! Nooooo!!!!

One thing’s for sure, when the next book comes out I won’t waste time procrastinating anymore. I am getting right to it! Hopefully all these questions in my head will be laid to rest. I can only hope that it will be one amazing mind-blowing conclusion.

One thought on “Insurgent

  1. Pingback: Book Review: “Divergent” « The Cheap Reader

Comments are closed.