Changes

They say the only thing constant is change. I believe that.

There are two things buzzing in my head along those lines. One of which is my hair. I know, this is one of those shallow hair dilemmas. We all have those moments do we not? You see, I’ve been wearing my hair straight and long for 7 months now. Sure it’s convenient and makes you look slimmer. Tony & Jackey really gives a mean rebond hands-down. I don’t even comb my hair and it looks exactly the same day in and day out. But since I’ve been wearing that same look for a long time, I think it’s time for a change. You know what they say, if you’ve been wearing the same look for 6 months, then you’re stuck in a rut.

Thanks to the little survey that I did on twitter I think I’ve made up my mind. I’ve posted a question on whether I should consider getting a cut or a curl, and it was a resounding “Curl!”. I honestly couldn’t remember the last time I had a perm so I rummaged through some old photos and found this one taken during my wedding back in 2007. I don’t remember what we were laughing about but it must have been pretty darn funny to merit those silly grins on our faces.
Image

Judging by the photo, I think curls look pretty decent on me, so a decision has been made! ๐Ÿ™‚ ย Although I’m thinking it has to be a more laid back version aka Kardashian hair, rather than the Goldilocks curls I’m wearing in the photo. I’m not in a rush to go on a mad dash to the salon, but I’m just glad that I finally know what to tell the hairstylist and not end up saying the dreaded words “Bahala ka na” (Your call). The last time I did that, I ended up with an unflattering pixie cut. I literally wanted to lock myself in a room or if need be, wear a beanie for months.

Hair woes aside, the second change that I’ve been mulling endlessly about is health-related. You see, the way I’ve been eating the past months, years…well I don’t remember for how long, I’ve been careless. Really careless. I was on a seafood diet, when I see food, I eat it. I know lame high school joke. Wanted to use that line for quite sometime. This was the perfect opportunity. HA!

I seem to have forgotten that one’s metabolism changes with age. I realize now that I can no longer get away with stuffing my mouth silly with chips and still maintain a slim figure. Especially now that I have mommy flab that I can’t seem to shed off no matter what. Sure, I go biking like twice a week. Sure, I’ve cut down rice intake considerably. You’d think that changes anything? Not really. I still eat a lot of sweets, fastfood and all those fatty foods without a care in the world. I realize now that this has got to stop.

The last time I went on a diet was back in College. I don’t remember why I quit meat altogether but all I ate back then was fish, vegetables and fruit. As a result, I had a 24 inch waistline. I followed that diet religiously for 7 months. But when the holidays came around, BAM! that was the end of that diet. I guess I could no longer resist staying away from honeyglazed Christmas ham or those holiday sweets people give as gifts. You people are evil! Evil I say! But for all it’s worth, it worked like a charm. I didn’t feel hungry at all because I was constantly eating but it was healthy food that I ate like apples and pears. None of the junk that I eat now.

So with that diet in mind, I decided to challenge myself and see if I can replicate the same diet, or at least do something similar. And today marks the beginning of that diet. Of course, since last night was the night before the big D, I had to indulge myself with a bag of chicharon (pork rinds). I savored it down to the last morsel. I woke up feeling bloated. So there you go.

Veggies and fruit are pretty much what will constitute my meals. That includes veggie and fruit juices too. I’m adding fiber through cereals and oatmeal and might throw in some protein shakes to replace some meals. I’m still trying to figure out the combination so I still need to do more research. Instead of my usual sweetened coffee with heaps of cream and sugar (I usually have 3 cups a day), I’m trying black coffee. I know, can there be anything sadder than black coffee? While I was preparing my first cup today I literally felt like crying but after a few sips, I’ve realized hey! it’s not so bad. I can do this! I felt like giving myself a hug. I guess I’m skipping Starbucks from now on. I’m sure my wallet will thank me for it.

I have a target weight in mind so hopefully, I can start looking like that girl in her wedding dress that you see in the photo. Of course, back then I was still going to the gym. It helped a lot that I had free gym membership as it came along with the job. Yes free gym, it was one of my benefits. Remind me again why I left that job? ย Anyway, ย I’m sure I’ll find other ways to keep an active lifestyle this time around. More than just weight loss, I really want to start living healthy. That is, if I want to live old enough to see my grand kids, then I guess there is no better time to start than now.

So how about you? Any big or small changes you plan to adapt in your life? Do share ๐Ÿ™‚

7 thoughts on “Changes

  1. Love the photo, Aimee! you should have it framed ๐Ÿ™‚
    As for the small changes – none yet ๐Ÿ˜ฆ But i’m crossing my fingers, toes and legs that the GM diet is safe for nursing mommies ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. Definitely, a change in diet, too for me. After my sickness episode, I have to watch what I eat.

    I like the curly Aimee in the picture, but of course, go with the natural waves.

    Btw, you’ve got your kindle na? ๐Ÿ˜‰

    • Thanks Peachy! Yes better take care of your health. I’m glad you’re okay though. Nope I haven’t gotten the Kindle yet. Still thinking about it. ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. Aimee you looked so nice with curls! But I’ll be honest, I also love your flawless straight hair =) And yes, after I read your post I realized how bad my diet is!!! I gotta move it move it! =)

Comments are closed.