First of August

Well what do you know, it’s the first of August! My brain is still trying to wrap itself around it. I am both in awe at how fast time flies and  feel rather unprepared because in a month’s time, we’re officially hitting the BER season.

So have you reflected about what you’ve accomplished the past year? Pardon me, but I do tend to get reflective around this time of year. I often find myself making a mental checklist of the things that I’ve accomplished thus far.

On the upside, I’m glad that I’ve managed to check off some items on my “list” but on the other hand, I also wanna kick myself in the shin (if that is even remotely possible) for having made such a long list. That means I’ve got my work cut out for me and I have a long way to go. Despite that, I also have to remind myself that I don’t need to feel like I’m in a race against time. And as much as I believe in the importance of setting goals and deadlines and working hard to achieve them, I also believe that there are things that cannot be forced. We also need to give ourselves some space… enough to allow things to happen organically. At times when I adapt this frame of mind, things really have a way of coming together on its own.

On a similar note, I happen to stumble on this cool graphic below which I think is a good reminder for all of us. Whether you’ve already checked off most of the items in your list, or like me you still have a lot on your plate, we must remember that it’s not always good to play safe. Because when you keep playing safe, things remain stagnant. And when things remain stagnant, then you stop living. Sometimes it’s all about the bold choices 🙂

If this message resonates with you somehow, then maybe…just maybe you were really meant to see it. Think about it.

Happy midweek! 🙂

