Timeless Literature

If I were to categorize the recent books that I’ve read, I would put them under “timeless award-winning novels”. I don’t know if it was a conscious thing that I chose to read these books one after the other. Perhaps it was.

These books were in my “to-read” list for what seemed like forever and I’m glad that I finally had the chance to conquer and drink in these pages from cover to cover and really see for myself why these literary works were widely-celebrated during their time, and remains relevant to this day.

I read through “To Kill A Mockingbird” first and I must admit that I struggled with it at first. There were moments that went on forever. There were full pages devoted to describing a moment, a scene, a vision or a character that aims to draw you deeper and fully engage you as a reader, but considering my faulty attention span, I really had to pry my eyes open at times just so I can continue the journey. I’m glad I did. The characters were endearing. Jean Louise Finch aka Scout was a classic tomboy and her curiosity has lead her through all sorts of adventures and misadventures. It was interesting to read about her relationship with her brother Jem, who at times was her worst enemy and at times her best ally. My most favorite character in the book is Atticus Finch, a brilliant, lawyer Dad who always knew the right thing to say at the right moment, and who believed that there was hope for Tom Robinson, the man he defended in court. Their lives weave into puzzling twists and turns in the sleepy town called Maycomb, where everything was at a standstill, and where racism and a wounded judicial system were just a few of the many issues detailed in this book.

“To Kill A Mockingbird” is a sin Atticus says, which if you analyze is pretty much what the whole story is about. Mockingbirds do no harm and to kill something so innocent and free, is truly a grave sin. That Mockingbird is Tom Robinson. Or some say, could be Boo Radley. I guess it depends on how you look at it.

Atticus reminds me so much of my own father who also happens to be a lawyer. And I can proudly say, that he is a mighty good one at that. He is incredibly cool, calm and collected even if the world that surrounds him is in utter chaos. Same as Atticus, my dad is also showered with sacks of fresh produce and vegetables as a token of thanks.

Fahrenheit 451 is a dystopian novel that talks about a world where reading books is considered a heinous crime therefore Firemen did not put out fires, but started them and they were tasked to burn books. ALL BOOKS. It is a frightening world where the society is brainwashed and censorship was high because ideas and knowledge were considered very dangerous things.  The gripping tale surrounds Guy Montag who is a Fireman and who eventually discovers just how absurd things are.  He makes a life-changing decision to break free from conformity and radically go against authorities in order to pursue truth.

The book is less than 200 pages which should make it an easy read, but the content is heavy and I often found myself falling into a vortex of symbolisms and alternate realities that it left me grasping for air. I didn’t exactly stride leisurely as I flipped through each page, I felt like I had to run with it. This book left my head spinning with unanswered questions, and for this reason alone I wish there were more pages to the book. If that were the case then maybe certain issues and characters could have been given more spotlight. Maybe their lives could have been explained more in depth rather than just being glossed over, or at least that’s how it felt like for me. Then maybe I wouldn’t feel like I was left staring at an unfinished jigsaw puzzle. But then again, maybe it was meant to be that way. Maybe it’s up to the readers to create their own world to find the missing pieces and make the story whole.

Amazing how books have so much power in them that they can stir you into feeling an overwhelming sense of emotion that it rocks you back and forth, and can knock you sideways. That’s exactly how I felt while reading these books. But alas, the journey continues. Hope you’ll stick around for my next book adventures. 🙂

6 thoughts on “Timeless Literature

  1. I’m rereading To Kill a Mockingbird right now. I haven’t read it since high school and I’m teaching it to 9th graders next year! EEEE! However, I am loving it SO much more this time around!

  2. I love to Kill a Mockingbird – which I was able to read only recently. Haha. It was also a struggle for me to read it at the beginning, yes I blame it also on the attention deficit disorder I have. But after much prodding from the husband to finish it, I did. And I wished I had been patient sooner!

Comments are closed.