This Week’s Reads

Here are the pages that I’ve been flipping through recently.

I’ve just finished Alex Flinn’s “Beastly”. The one that you see above is a movie tie-in edition but I still prefer the other cover as I’m not a big fan of movie tie-ins. That’s a borrowed copy that you see right there. I haven’t seen the movie yet but there are a lot of mixed reviews. I’m still interested to see it on DVD because I’m an Olsen fan (mostly for their fashion sense) and I’d like to see Mary Kate play the role of the witch.

The book is a fairy-tale retelling of Beauty and The Beast, but in modern day New York. I genuinely liked the first few chapters. At some point, I was rooting for the witch because Kyle Kingsbury was such a douchebag that you just felt like kicking him in the balls. So I was like “Yeah! Go for it Witch! He deserves it!”. I also liked the exchanges between him and Will, his blind tutor. But that’s as far as it goes, the moment Lindy moved in and started living with him, it all went Disney from there. I can almost hear Celine Dion and Peabo Bryson belt out “Beauty and the Beast” in the background. I still finished the book though, because I hate not finishing my reads even if the cheese overload was killing me softly.

I’m moving on now with high hopes that the book on the right which is John Green’s “Looking for Alaska”, will sweep me off my feet and lift my spirits. That might be a little too much to ask from a book, but anything minus all the mush will be greatly appreciated. Anyway, I’ve heard a lot of great things about this book but was warned about the waterworks. Guess that means, I ought to stock up on Kleenex too.

Happy Friday everyone! I’m feeling rather glum but I just have to remind myself that everything will be okay. Enough about me….Hope your weekend rocks! πŸ™‚

6 thoughts on “This Week’s Reads

  1. i saw the movie, aimee. it was ok. i’m also an OLSEN twins fan because of their fashion sense (though not of their grunge disheveled look). MK as the witch fits her to a T. Her emaciated look really made her wicked. πŸ˜‰

  2. I was really looking forward to reading Beastly but after you said “it all went Disney from there…” I’m not so sure. I do love Disney’s Beauty and the Beast or at least I did when I was five and I love her moments with books, or in the library – but I’m not sure I could handle all that in a young adult novel. My mom desperately wants to see the movie though so I’m going to have to read it before I see it.

    • Hi Cassie! I actually loved Disney’s Beauty and Beast when I was a kid, and to be honest if it’s showing on TV, i think i’ll still watch it πŸ™‚ Some people actually loved the book so yeah, give it a whirl! I guess I’m just the type who gets repelled by too much mush. πŸ™‚

Comments are closed.