Feature: When Uan Met Sally

Yesterday, the husband and I trooped over to Maginhawa Street in QC to celebrate  a very special occasion. I’ll talk about that in another blog post. Anyway, I grew up in the area and I went to high school there so I know that street like the back of my hand. It was also where I spent most of my awkward adolescent years at. But like everyone, I too had to move on. And the moment I got hitched, I had to move to the northest part of Quezon City so going back to this place always feels nostalgic.

Since we had a lot of time to spare as the resto was still closed at the time, I managed to snoop around and check the surroundings. It was hard not to notice this quaint little shop which apparently was on soft opening on that day.  Two words. Perfect. Timing.

Very interesting store name if I may say so myself. Obviously, the name was inspired by “When Harry Met Sally”, one of my favorite romantic comedies of all time. Although, strangely enough  it also reminded me of the recent passing of Nora Ephron, which made my heart slightly sink a bit. Anyway, I’m sure that there’s a really fascinating story behind the name.

They sell a lot of stuff but what caught my attention were these nice hand-painted bags. Check out the detail on those!

They also sell clothes and jewelry.

Very cute vintage-looking cabinet with all the nice little trinkets on display. Check out the pretty painting on the interiors.

When I saw the tote, it was love at first sight! I love that “The Kiss” is the focal point of the art on this bag. Although the actual kiss appears to be covered by a huge price tag in this photo. I remember that my Dad gave me  a print of the artwork back in College and I liked it so much that I put it on my dorm window. Well, mostly to shield my eyes from the harsh sunlight but that’s another story.

They also have a Monalisa tote, among others which I forgot to take a picture of. I really like the whole concept of art-you-can-wear.

Here are the other bags in the store.

They have some nice dresses too. Maybe I’ll come back soon to show these a little more appreciation.

Beautiful arm candies

And neck pieces.

So what did little old me get from that gem of a place? Yes, I’m predictable like that. Course I had to get the tote, how could I not right? It has my favorite artwork and it’s the perfect size to carry all my junk. I also appreciate how lightweight it is and the fact that it comes with a zipper enclosure. No more spillage!

So if you happen to be in the neighborhood and you want to check out the store, the sticker below will give you the deets on where to find it.

A shout-out to all the lovely ladies in the store during my visit. Thanks for letting me snap some pics. I hope I didn’t weird you out too much. 🙂

9 thoughts on “Feature: When Uan Met Sally

  1. Hi! those are really nice! How much was the bag, if I may know. and can you give me the exact location? thanks!!!

  2. have always been passing by this store but never got the chance to visit until last night; they now have a cafe where they serve light snacks and coffee. they do have interesting pieces and the artsy unique stuff; i would have bought a top and a bag but was so put-off by the only lady looking after the place who didn’t seem interested to attend to me and my questions.

    products — great….
    customer service experience — disappointing!

Comments are closed.