Divergent

I’ve never read a Young Adult book, not to mention a Dystopian novel in my life. So I figured that since I wanted a refreshing read this weekend, I might as well give this book a go. It won “Favorite book of 2011” in the Goodreads Choice Awards and was a #1 New York Times Best Seller.

I started reading it on Monday and on and off since then. I just realized now that I am already flipping through Chapter 26 and I must say, I am quite impressed with the gripping story line. Perhaps I should consider reading more Dystopian fiction if it’s as exciting as this one.

Image

Just to give you an idea, the story takes place in Dystopian Chicago where in order to obtain complete peace and order, the society has to be separated in various factions, each with a singular purpose. The factions are characterized by their own set of social norms and acceptable behaviors. Amidst this kind of a rigid environment, enters the heroine of the story…Beatrice Prior who is a sixteen-year old girl who hails from the Abnegation faction. She makes a decision that will forever change her life.

The video below will give you a clearer idea of the conflict and what makes this story interesting.

This book has kept me at the edge of my seat. It really is quite fascinating! And there’s also an unexpected love story which I think is a good ingredient in balancing out a book like this, which is all action and suspense. It’s safe to say that I am definitely moving on to the sequel, Insurgent.

So there, I guess you already know how this girl’s spending her weekend. I’ll just be in my little corner with my nose buried in this book.

Happy weekend guys! šŸ™‚

2 thoughts on “Divergent

  1. I’m tickled that you liked it. I loved it too when i read it last year. The sequel is part of my to-read list.

Comments are closed.