100th Post + Thoughts on Blogging

Almost 5 months of WordPress blogging and I have finally reached my 100th post! Imagine that. I don’t even know if highlighting the 100th entry holds any special significance but when I Googled it, there seems to be a lot of “100th post” graphic images such as this one below. So I figured hey, this might be cause for celebration! Come to think of it, this might be a good time to whip out that bottle of red wine that’s been gathering dust in my cupboard. Hell yeah!

Image

But before anything, allow me to talk about how this blog came to be. This is kind of a long post but I promise you, I do have a point.

Here goes…

Some 5 years ago I had two blogs. Unfortunately, I had to wipe those out from the face of the universe for the most unfortunate reasons. Despite feeling depressed about it, I knew I really couldn’t stop writing. So I started anew…elsewhere. I decided to try blogging in WordPress. I honestly felt like I moved into a new town, or that I was the new kid in school. I started with my first post here which sort of explains the demise of my two blogs. I started with very short impersonal posts because I didn’t want to give away too much about myself. Sometimes I just posted a photo and made a caption. It was a slow and steady start, but it helped jump start things. I didn’t know if anyone cared about my posts but I just kept on blogging. Post after post after post. At some point, I wanted to blog “HELLO! ANYBODY THERE???”. I’m sure if I did that, I would just hear my own voice in a sad lonely echo.

But with or without an audience, I just kept on going.

When I started this blog, I had very simple objectives in mind. One of which, was that I wanted the freedom to write about anything and not confine myself to certain content just because I needed to uphold an image, or because I had to cater to a certain audience. Being a marketeer and having spent years in the advertising world, you’d think I’d be conscious about image and branding, but the moment I started this blog, I threw all that out the door.

I wanted a blog that would grow with me and accommodate my growing interests. Heck, if I wanted to take up skydiving, gardening or carpentry, or suddenly decide to turn vegan, I don’t ever want to have to feel that I am going against my “branding”. Hey! don’t get me wrong, branding works for a lot of people, especially those who want to professionalize their blogs and eventually earn from it. In fact that’s a good thing. But what I wanted was freedom more than anything. I didn’t want to feel like highschool all over again, where you had to choose which clique you belonged to. Heck, if I wanted to sit at the geeks table, then by all means I was going to sit at the geeks table! And if I wanted to hang out with the tattooed rebel kids then what the hell, I was gonna sit with them! I do have a tattoo, a rather small one but a tattoo nevertheless. Sorry, I’m rambling here.

If you think about it, the whole blogosphere is sort of like highschool….a vast community with its own social circles. To name a few, you have your parenting bloggers, your food bloggers, your travel bloggers, your fashion bloggers, your beauty bloggers, your book bloggers, your tech bloggers, your lifestyle bloggers, your photo bloggers…i can go on and on and on. Each one has their own circle and produce content to relate to their respective audiences. Which really should be the case. I should know…I for one had a mommy blog and a separate beauty blog. I figured since both cater to a different set of readers, I decided to make separate content for each blog. So that’s what I did. I kept churning out entry upon entry for both blogs. But at some point, I realized that as much as I adore being a mom and am a fan of experimenting with beauty products, I also wanted to talk about so many other things that I discovered about myself along the way. But I felt like if I started talking about DIYs, or current events, or pop culture, those topics had no room in those blogs! At some point I felt like I was trapped in a box. But I still kept going because I had readers and at that time, I was blogging for them.

In this blog if you remember, I once talked about comic books so some of you may have snoozed on that one, but I’m glad that I never had to feel like I was pressured not to, because it was going against my limits. I wrote about it because it’s what I wanted to write about at that time. I wrote about it because I was writing for myself. Period. I guess you can say that when I wiped out both blogs and despite feeling so down about it, a part of me was actually kind of glad that I did it. Because that gave me a reason to reboot. A reason to start-over if you will.

About the name of the blog, I dropped the whole point of putting a witty and catchy name for this blog. I decided to just use my name and just add an “i am” before it. Yeah talk about being uncreative huh? I guess more than anything, I just wanted a blog that was about me. Plus I didn’t want to have a blog name that I would end up cringing about 10 years down the line. Oh yeah, those of you who have weird email addresses like prettyprincess@yahoo.com or Β popsiclepink@hotmail.com would know exactly what I mean! Yup I had one of those revolting email addresses too. And no, I’m not sharing it for fear of blackmail.

Lastly, I went about this blog with one guiding principle and that isΒ “to blog what you know”. And that’s what I’ve been doing ever since.

So allow me to thank everyone who has stopped by my little nook in the world wide web. That stat meter right on the upper right hand corner shows that in my almost 5 months of existence here in WordPress, where at first I thought was just mumbling to myself in my own little sad corner, there were actually people who stopped by to read my posts. Thank you for spending a few minutes of your day reading about my random ramblings about life, parenting, my creative interests and what inspires me. Even if I’ve blogged about things that do not make sense to you, you guys still stuck it out. You may have yawned at some of my posts (I forgive you) but hey! you’re still there and that’s all that matters. It really does warm the heart.

Thanks again and here’s hoping you’ll still stick around for the next 100 posts! πŸ™‚

P.S. Feel free to subscribe to my posts via email by hitting the “follow” button on the upper right hand corner, or you can follow me on twitter where I’m chattier than usual. Sorry no facebook fanpage here. There are times when I’m not even a fan of myself so a fan page is definitely out of the question! hahaha

21 thoughts on “100th Post + Thoughts on Blogging

  1. Hi! I like reading your blog. I actually miss blogs like yours – blogs without a niche and write about anything and everything. πŸ™‚

  2. love ur blogs and i’m considering to buy that hydro culture plant you featured haha! πŸ™‚

  3. If you’d shout “HELLO, ANYBODY THERE?”, I’d shout back that Hey, someone here enjoys random ramblings without regard to branding and image and all that limiting stuff! Here’s to freedom and writing for ourselves!

  4. Yay for your 100th post! =)

    I know how it feels to be limited to a type of blog. I also started a mommy blog but decided on not continuing with it. Although i take pride in being a good mom (i try with all my might) but since i also love architecture & interior design, i thought of changing my blog name & posted more design ideas in addition to other personal interests. Freely blogging about things close to your heart makes it more fun & the real you comes out. πŸ˜‰

  5. congratulations, a!

    I am not a consistent blogger as you, you know that very well being my one of two constant readers. But I know what you mean. I’ve known you for years but this blog of yours made me know even parts of you i’ve never had the pleasure of meeting before.

    And you’re my inspiration for just wanting to be a better, more consistent, more real blogger. Thought you’d want to know that.

  6. congrats aimee! i am one of those who keeps the number of your blog hits coming! although I miss your old blog (i wasn’t done reading all the posts yet when it was put down *frown*), this new one is a breath of fresh air. keep ’em coming aimee! πŸ™‚

    • Hi Maqui! Yup wiped out! Nope I sadly wasn’t able to save any of my posts. That was one of the things that I seriously regretted. That may be one of the reasons why I blog often now to kind of make up for it. πŸ™‚

  7. congratulations! come to think of it, i don’t remember my 100th post. I like this post. just being yourself in this world of blogosphere usually make you unique. thanks for sharing your “family” with us your readers. and yes you’re far more “chattier” sa twitter. hahaha! cheers to you!

  8. i like reading your blogs… specially when i am getting zoned out …. it’s one of the things that usually perk me up πŸ™‚ cheers!

  9. Pingback: These “AWARDS” I Cherish! « MKG- Memories-Keepsakes-Gifts

  10. Pingback: This July I Am Blogging to Find My Voice « The Daily Hottentots

Comments are closed.