Weekend Read

IT’S THE WEEKEND!!! πŸ™‚ Yes, consider this “capitals-and-exclamation-points” overkill. That just shows how truly ecstatic I am.

Nope, no big plans here. I just plan to stay up late watching TV, walk around lazily in my jammies, play lego with the little one, take the bike for a cruise and hopefully have time to curl up in a comfy chair with a box of Kleenex, while I get lost in these crisp dreamy pages….

Image

The moment I got the book, I already flipped through some pages to get a preview of the journey ahead of me. And before I knew it, I was already in chapter 5 and seemed to have gotten lost in eras, characters, and vividly-described scenarios. I sure have Β a long way to go and I’m glad I have the whole weekend to embrace this beautifully-written book from start to finish, hopefully with a cup of tea and a plateful of baked eggs πŸ™‚

Truth is, I also needed a refreshing change from that dangerously addictive trilogy. Oh yeah, don’t act coy on me like that…you know exactly what I’m talking about! LOL. I am still at a loss as to how those oddly-written (“oddly” may be an understatement) books have managed to creep into my consciousness and have set camp there. Β Seriously! I guess you don’t need to be a Pulitzer Prize winner to be an engaging storyteller (or a best-selling author at that!). Clearly, writing and storytelling are two very different things.

Oh well, food for thought! πŸ™‚

Happy weekend!

10 thoughts on “Weekend Read

  1. This book looks wonderful – I love the cover and if you sat down to taste and ended up in chapter 5, it sounds like a winner! Thank you for sharing.

  2. I loved this book! It has stayed with me more than most books I review. I gave it a 4.5 out of 5 but think I really short changed it; it should have been a 10.

  3. Enjoy the book… My eldest daughter, who is 13 enjoyed reading that. Even me, super love,ko din yan. Hahaha! It is still Christian Grey ei?! Hahaha! This is the reason why I am looking for the next book to read. Hahaha!

  4. My oh my! I’m still under Christian Grey’s bubble and I can’t help but smile. Thank you for the tip. At least it could help divert my attention πŸ™‚

  5. Me din! Nagagalit na sakin si hubby kasi puro nlng daw ako Christian πŸ™‚ In fact, he just gave me Hunger Games in PDF para madivert attention ko pero fail 😦 I found myself starting to read the book all over again -skipping the erotic scenes -nakakaumay kasi. hihi.
    Let me know your thoughts about this book ha?! πŸ™‚ Pero hahanap ndin ako ng PDF.

    • hahaha! i have plans of re-reading it too. i think i need to do it so i can get it out of my system once and for all! πŸ™‚ i just finished “Before Ever After”. it’s the kind of book that you’d wish were made into a movie so you can see and “experience” all the majestic places and eras. The characters are all so endearing and the dialogue is brilliant. It has a lot of reference to history, if you like that kind of thing πŸ™‚

Comments are closed.