First Day

Today was the little girl’s first day of school. And I was a nervous wreck.

I woke up at 5:30am to finish putting labels on her leave-behind stuff. The school discourages kids from bringing big bags so everything is stored in their own cubbyholes. That includes her books, art materials and personal stuff like her toothbrush, handwash and extra underwear. We brought so much stuff this morning, I felt like we were packing for her to move there! Although it’s really just a senior toddler class, their school is pretty structured when it comes to certain things such as wearing uniforms and making sure they look after the child’s hygiene.

Anyway, took this pic before I stepped out of the classroom.

Image

Yup, no more silly face here. In fact, I’ve never seen her this serious before. Gulp.

Everything went off to a great start. She busied herself by playing with some blocks while waiting for her classmates to arrive. And I managed to sneak out of the classroom unnoticed. That was until one of the kids cried “Mommy!”. She was startled and started looking around, all of a sudden conscious of her surroundings. That’s when she started throwing a tantrum.

The yaya went inside and had to accompany her for a bit till she calmed down. After a few minutes, the yaya managed to sneak out of the room as the teacher distracted her with some books. While peering into the tiny window of the classroom, we couldn’t help but breathe a huge sigh of relief.

I didn’t get to finish her class as I had to rush to work. All the while, I couldn’t stop thinking about how her first day went. I was worried. I mean it was a lot of “firsts” for a two year old to process at one go! It was her first time to wear a uniform (well second time, the first was when she fitted her uniform), first time to attend class, first time to meet the teacher and first time to ride the school bus home, with her yaya in tow of course. I sure hope she’s still game for more action by tomorrow.

After class, I called to check on things and was told she was pretty responsive in class. She slowly eased her way into the group and even sat in front so she can answer questions during the storytelling session. This was music to my ears!

I’m keeping my fingers and toes crossed that she found the whole “school thing” an experience worth repeating….tomorrow, and the day after, and the day after that. But for now, perhaps I should just relax and bask in the glow of the little victories in life, even if it means moving slowly and taking each day a step at a time. All I know is that today, my kid is a full-fledged school girl and that’s enough reason to celebrate.

8 thoughts on “First Day

  1. First day of school is always so stressful…. for the moms!!! LOL!
    I also have a post on the blog about this last Friday 🙂
    Your girl looks so cute, I’m sure she adjusting well to her class. We experience more separation anxiety that the kids! 🙂

    • You’re right, the first day was stressful! hahahaha. I read your post! It tugged at the heart 🙂 Thanks for the kind words and for dropping by the blog! 🙂

  2. aimee, your little girl seems to be telling you ” don’t leave, momma…” . i’m past that stage with li’l kids, but somehow my eldest, a college sophie who left last tuesday to her far-off school/dorm is still not used to leaving home. i, too feel the sadness. wala pala sa edad ng anak ang pagiging nanay. =(

    • i agree about her facial expression, you’re right. it’s as if she was telling me that exactly. aaaaaw. i guess we all get separation anxiety no matter what age our kids are. 😦

  3. aaawww…. look at that face… between me and amaya, I am the one who had a separation anxiety. hahahaha! it took me 5 minutes to leave her to the teacher. hahaha! and yes, this morning, parang dun sa school na titira si amaya ko sa dami ng dala. hahaha!

Comments are closed.