School Update

Thanks to everyone that gave their comments and advice on my post about Early Schooling. You can read about it here. I was surprised that the link even got shared twice or thrice in other people’s Facebook pages. And in turn those posts received further comments. Perhaps a lot of you could relate to all my senseless ramblings. Or found my “no read no write at 7” true story quite amusing. For whatever reason, thank you. ๐Ÿ™‚

So here’s the scoop on the whole early schooling thing. My mind was made up that I wasn’t going to send the little girl to school this year. That was it. The decision has been made. My plan was to stop torturing myself about this whole early education issue and move on to other things…perhaps start on that DIY framing project that I’ve been meaning to do for months. Or paint my toe nails a funky fluo color. Yes the plan was to focus on one thing at a time.

That was till last Saturday…

My kid was awfully quiet. This is a rareย occurrence as my child is the talkative type. She even talks in her sleep. I will leave that for another post. She walks slowly towards me in an eerie glacial pace and put her hands on my lap. I immediately put my palm on her neck to check if she has a temperature. My child does not do “glacial pace”, she usually tornadoes her way from point A to point B and often times leaves a trail of clutter behind her. I ask her if she was okay. She nods. And in the clearest possible way a 2 year old can speak, she uttered these words “Please. Mommy. Go. School”. And since my brain could not quite process it, I mindlessly responded with a “Huh?”.

So that was it. The child has spoken. Perhaps I may have underestimated her decision-making process at the tender age of two. I mean come on! I know someone who at that age, used to eat her own snot for pete’s sake! Speaking of which, I still cannot for the life of me shake off that horrid image in my head. She’s 23 now. I don’t think I can ever look at her without wincing inside.

I texted the owner of one of the progressive schools that I was eyeing, just to check if in the slightest chance I wanted to enroll my kid, if she would still have a slot for her. And just as serendipity may have planned it, she said yes.

Fast forward to today, this is what our bedroom floor looks like. Course I had to style it a bit so it looks nice for the camera. Heehee. ๐Ÿ™‚

ImageI managed to enroll the tot on Monday, yeah talk about Panic Enrolling 101. And I am now scrambling to accomplish a long list of things I need to buy which oddly includes six rolls of tissue, an apron and a place mat. But since I am almost out of time, I will not even bother questioning the things on the list. Heck, I barely even have time to brush my hair.

I still don’t know if I am making the right decision. But the moment my little girl tried on her uniform, and admired herself so lovingly in the mirror, I figured what the hey, if this is what she wants then I, her cuckoo of a mother will ย do whatever I can to make it happen. Even if it means having to stumble my way awkwardly in the dark…whatever that means.

6 thoughts on “School Update

  1. She has spoken so let it be :). what school is she going to?
    i’m sure she’ll have fun because she wants to do it.

    good luck neighbor!

    • thanks CJ! it’s a nearby school in our area. since i’ve had stalker issues before i’d rather not post the name of the school. hahahaha. i sure hope she’ll enjoy going there. ๐Ÿ™‚

    • Hahaha. Yup siya na talaga nagsabi ๐Ÿ™‚ Yeah, early part of the year. It was one of those “why me I’m not a celebrity” moments. I hope it never happens again. Too darn freaky.

Comments are closed.