Geeks Rule

ImageIf there’s any comedy sitcom that I never tire of watching, it has got to be “The Big Bang Theory”. All thanks to the very complex character of Dr. Sheldon Cooper. Played by actor Jim Parsons, Sheldon is a a freakishly intelligent theoretical physicist. He feels intellectually superior over most people and never fails to make those around him well aware of that.

He has some pretty awkward social skills and wild idiosyncrasies which make him such an endearing character. Next to him, my next favorite character is Howard Wolowitz who is the only one in the group that lacks a doctoral degree and who is known for his most revolting pick-up lines. He also still lives with his mother.

Going back to Sheldon, here are some of his quotable quotes that I picked up from their fan site. Yes, they have a fan site. The show is a hit, so if you haven’t seen an episode, I suggest you start scouring those channels (I watch it on WB) or downloading episodes from Youtube.

In an episode where Sheldon was given a gift…

Sheldon: You bought me a present? Why would you do such a thing? I know you think you’re being generous, but the foundation of gift giving is reciprocity. You haven’t given me a gift, you’ve given me an obligation. The essence of the custom is that I now have to go out and purchase for you a gift of commensurate value and representing the same perceived level of friendship as that represented by the gift you’ve given me. Ah, it’s no wonder suicide rates skyrocket this time of year. Oh, I brought this on myself by being such an endearing and important part of your life…

Sheldon: For the record, I do have genitals. They’re functional and aesthetically pleasing.

Sheldon: Good morning everyone and welcome to “Science and Society”. I’m Dr. Sheldon Cooper, BS, MS, MA, PhD and ScD. OMG, right?

God I love him. Kudos to the writers that came up with the character. Yes this is me gushing. I am a Sheldon Cooper fan girl to the core. Maybe I should have “BAZINGA!” tattooed on my hip. Or maybe not.

4 thoughts on “Geeks Rule

  1. i love sheldon cooper too! when i was preggy with lia, i used to watch TBT episodes all night. during that time, hubby was so worried that my likeness toward him might make our then little fetus a geek. so since he cannot stop me from watching, he just made me stare at penny so our baby can get her good looks. oh i miss the big bang theory company! and how can i forget that their dinner scenes never failed to make me call food delivery when i was in my third trimester. bazinga rocks 🙂

    • yey! a fellow TBBT fan! hell yeah! 🙂 so funny that your husband was worried! LOL. i do love their dinner scenes. they make take-out food so enticing! 🙂

  2. i looove TBBT. Penny, Penny, Penny. Ilove Howard’s mum too. All of them. I love that show, as in!

Comments are closed.