Midweek Dessert

For coffee break today, my colleague and I trooped over to Slice in Bonifacio High Street Central. A lot of people were tweeting, instagramming and blogging about the Choco Yema cupcake so we wanted to see for ourselves if it was worth the raves.

Here it is, in all it’s oozing glazed goodness.

Image

For readers based abroad, “yema” is a custard sweetย candy, often wrapped in colorful plastic. The word itself actually means “yolk” in Spanish, so yes…this candy has a lot of egg yolks as the main ingredient. And to have that kind of delectable gooey sweetness made into a cupcake topping…come on! are you for real???

So what’s the verdict?

As usual, I had to mentally prepare myself the moment the plate was served. I take my cupcakes very very seriously. I forked a piece and just savored the moment. Yes, I really take a “moment” especially in the presence of a magnificently made dessert. The fact that the cupcake is quite a novel idea ( it may be the only one of it’s kind in the metro), makes it a must-try. But if I may, this cupcake experience would have been made all the more perfect, should the chocolate cupcake underneath be more moist. But it could just be a personal preference. Either that, or I might be subconsciously comparing it to the chocolate decadent cake, topped with warm caramel syrup. Okay… I think I made myself hungry just typing those words.

We also tried the Smores cupcake which you see on the right. If you’re not a fan of the kind of ย desserts that can make your throat hurt from too much sweetness, then this might be up your alley. It’s milder in taste and has marshmallows, walnuts (I think) and some other good stuff as toppings. Yeah, I’m using the word “stuff”. I honestly don’t remember what else was on it. Obviously, I didn’t care much for this one.

Image

So there. If you’re in Manila and get to drop by BHS Central, try these out and let me know what you think.

Happy Wednesday! or Thursday, or Friday depending on when you read this. ๐Ÿ™‚

8 thoughts on “Midweek Dessert

  1. Hi aimee! I also prefer a moist cupcake. Best if both the topping or icing & the base are delectable. When we’re around the area, we’ll try SLICE. =)

  2. I have a sweet tooth and i love yema! Have to try Slice soon! Thanks for posting this Aimee ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. Hi Aimee! Bloghopped my way onto your blog. ๐Ÿ™‚ I keep reading about that choco yema cupcake on Twitter but ngayon lang ako nakakita ng picture. Wow! It looks so good! Akala ko parang may yema filling lang or something. Now I wanna go to Slice!

Comments are closed.