Inspirational Reads

I honestly don’t know what got me hooked on inspirational lit. What is the world coming to right?! I’ve never given these books the time of day. For one, they scare the hibigeebies out of me. We all know that self-help has a tendency to get a little bit too preachy, which can be a turn-off. And second, I get a little  self-conscious when I swing by the “Self-help” or “Inspirational” sections. I feel like a set of eyes are staring me down….trying to psychoanalyze me and determine what kind of a tormented soul I am, based on the title I pull out of the shelf. It’s either that or I could be imagining things.

But I guess there’s something about going through your 30s that turns you either into a sentimental creature of mush or simply someone who doesn’t give a hoot what other people think. I think it’s more of the latter.

Image

I’m actually almost done with “Life’s Little Detours” by Regina Brett. I know she has other more popular titles which I haven’t read yet, but I’m particularly enjoying flipping through this book.It’s also quite small so I just stick it in my work bag and pull it out when the commute gets too boring. I’m taking my time reading this book because I’d like to absorb as much as I can, and reflect on all the witty practical anecdotes that I feel I can realistically apply in my life. I actually picked out this book during a low point in my life. We all have those days don’t we? Which was probably why I ended up reading it in the first place. The title called out to me I think.

A lot of the things said in the book have resonated with me. Things like “Cry with someone, it’s more healing then crying alone“..which may be why I wait for the hub to come home before I cry buckets and totally drench his shirt with tears. The book also shares this…”Be eccentric now, don’t wait for old age to wear purple” . If you know me, that explains a lot. A LOT. It’s just stuff like that, that make sense to me. Perfect sense. And although this book hasn’t exactly stitched my wounds, it feels like a warm bowl of chicken soup in days when you feel sick and absolutely worn out. Like a best friend who knows exactly what to tell you to knock some sense in your stubborn head. So I guess you can say this book came at the right place, at the right time for me. It was exactly what I needed.

The other book on the right has yet to be explored. I’ve figured, hey, I might as well continue with this whole positive reading as it seems to be doing me a lot of good. It’s like food for the soul. No let me rephrase that…it’s like dessert for the soul. It makes life a little bit sweeter. Naks.

I wish I can tell you that I am currently reading some pretty kick-ass novels, the cerebral highfaluting kind that will unfold a universal conspiracy, but no…this is pretty much it. Yeah, call me a sissy. But I’m a happier sissy, and these books are bringing an extra spring in my step.

5 thoughts on “Inspirational Reads

  1. I’m also into poring over self-help books but too wary to blog about it kse i notice people don’t like “serious” reads. But i think reading them for my own benefit is what i would do instead. 😉 thanks for this, aimee.

  2. me naman i just need to read for the sake of reading. i miss reading period. the last book i bought was nancy drew, the secret of the old clock because i wanted to read something nice, fun and easy. i read annual reports and financial statements everyday (what i do most of the time with my day job) and my brain needs a vacation. but as with all my other books, nancy drew sits on my bedside table, still unopened 😛

    • Secret of the Old Clock is good. In a Nancy Drew kind of way, i guess you can say. I used to be a Nancy Drew reader. And the memories of the books make me happy already. 😀

  3. Whoah! financial reports??? that will be the death of me. hahahaha. I used to read Nancy Drew in my teens. I felt I was living the world of adventure vicariously through her. 🙂

Comments are closed.