Ilocos Trip – Part 3

Hope you’re all enjoying your weekend! 🙂

This is part 3 of our Ilocos Norte adventure. Incase you missed the first two posts, you can read about those here and here. Looks like there’s a part 4 coming up. To jam all the remaining photos in this one post would be ridiculous.

With our tummies filled with pinakbet pizza, we trooped over to the grand Malacanang of the North, the former residence of the 10th President of the Philippines Ferdinand Marcos and his family. This is not to be mistaken with the Malacang Palace in Manila where the current President resides.

Being there was a real treat for me. If you’ve seen photos of my home, you’d know that we’re big on Filipino design. You’ll see that here and here. We’re all about Pinoy pride, that even our wedding was themed Modern Filipinana. Heck, we even named our kid Tala, which means “North Star” in Filipino. The only reason why I don’t blog in the vernacular is because bulk of my readers are from other countries. I still can’t believe that I have readers from Denmark, Russia and the UK among others. Thanks so much for reading my posts!  Wordpress has the coolest feature as it lets you know of the countries from where your blogs are being read from. Awesome! 🙂

Okay sorry… I’m getting a little sidetracked here, this is the main lobby of the house.

Image

The guest dining area on the ground floor.

Image

The bedroom of Sen. Bongbong Marcos.

One of the guest rooms in the house. Local celebrities like Nora Aunor have spent the night here. I like those red pillows.

When the former President couldn’t go up the stairs anymore, they converted this den into his bedroom. This was the entrance leading towards the bedroom.

And upon entering, you’ll see this. The statue kind of freaked me out at first.

One of their couple photos. I found this to be quite an endearing photo. He truly was enamored with his wife.

I love this ceiling detail

I. WANT. THIS. MIRROR.

This is the master’s bedroom in the second floor. Check out the size of that bed!

This is on the opposite side of that room, leading to Imelda’s private room.

I love this window. I’ve always loved capiz windows. Reminds me of the ancestral homes in the provinces.

The quirky portraits in her room.

Yes, that’s an Hermes Kelly

Of course, Imelda wouldn’t be Imelda if it weren’t for her shoes. Unfortunately, you won’t be seeing her grandiose collection in this post. Apparently, her shoes are already in Marikina City. I was quite disappointed.

The former first lady sure has a sense of humor. I heard these portraits were edited by her grandson.

One of her bags

This purse is super heavy. I know, I’ve tried carrying it. It’s like carrying a ton of bricks.

I am so in love with this space. This is inside the joint bedroom of the two daughters, Irene and Imee.

The patio

At the balcony

The Malacanang of the North fronting Paoay lake.

Appreciating the view of the lake.

Part 4 coming soon. 🙂

#itsmorefuninilocos

2 thoughts on “Ilocos Trip – Part 3

Comments are closed.